need some help with stuff

Status
Not open for further replies.

shadowdorothy

so i'm new to hacking, sort of.
i know what a patch and batch files are, but i don't know how to make them.
i have absolutely no idea how to use a text editor and if a text editor can be used one on certain games (like translating a Japanese game to English with a text editor) can it be done?
what is scripting?
i know that games are built on hexadecimal and binary code and i know the # systems involved, but what happens if you change some #'s?
i have a small idea on how to use map editors (you draw the map and replace the one in the game with the one you made? right?)
like I said, i'm sorta new at this stuff and I'm more interested in text editing and translation.
if anyone can help me I'd really like it.

K well if you want to text edit you need:
-A hex editor (get windhex)
-A rom (duh)
-A table file (easy to make)

So Once you have a Hex editor, open the rom. The hex you see is the game. You just need to know where the data you want to change is.
For text editing, this is hyper easy;
For NES, you can open a rom in nesticle or fce ultra or something and view the pattern tables. Go to a part of the game with words and stuff and view it. Then you highlight the letters with your mouse and it will tell you the hex of that letter. From this you can make a table file that your hex editor will use.
SO!
Make a txt file with notepad or something and just go
A=81
B=82
C=83
D=84
E=85
F=86
G=87
!=9A
.=9B
etc...

Then rename it Romfilename.tbl
and yeah open the rom in the hex editor and search for words and change it. Make sure you've selected the text and not the hex!!