Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2014, 01:26 PM   #1
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,939
Default security threat

Not saying it is a security threat first off. Now here's what happened. I was on reddit.com and McAffe scanner pops up as scheduled and scans the PC. I get one warning under web threats and it says Zophar.net is a security threat.

I ignore it of course but it may be time to send an email off to McAffe to find out how this is happening and to get taken off the list of offending sites.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 01:44 PM   #2
Edman
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 713
Default

Did it say which URL it considered a threat, or was it the root domain?

ZD constantly gets harassed by virus scanning tools. There are 20,600 files on ZD so that leaves plenty of options for false positives. There are also tools which automatically scan websites, decide that a website has a virus, and then emails the hosting company and puts the IP on a blacklist. The last such incident ended with me having to move to a different server altogether, and the virus in question - it was a 10 year old text file, only 860 bytes long. Not even close to an actual virus.
Edman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 01:53 PM   #3
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,939
Default

Just said www.zophar.net
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 02:14 PM   #4
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

Step One: Uninstall McAfee and start using a decent antimalware system. McAfee is such a piece of shit that even the guy who invented it refuses to use it.
__________________
I used to be a ROM hacker like you. Then I took an arrow to the feels.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 02:28 PM   #5
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,939
Default

Not my computer so I have no say in what's installed on it.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 04:34 PM   #6
martini
Content Manager
 
martini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ecuador
Posts: 803
Default

Shawn, but it is very good that you notify this.

Can you try to get some screenshots, or try to check more detail of what McAfee tells you which is the source code of malware on Zophar. Maybe it gives details on where is the site blacklisted.

Regards
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 05:14 PM   #7
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

According to Virus Total, Pareto Logic classifies this site as malware.
__________________
I used to be a ROM hacker like you. Then I took an arrow to the feels.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014, 09:34 PM   #8
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
Shawn, but it is very good that you notify this.

Can you try to get some screenshots, or try to check more detail of what McAfee tells you which is the source code of malware on Zophar. Maybe it gives details on where is the site blacklisted.

Regards

It didn't specify what was the problem. It just showed up on the regular scan. Also it wasn't the forum but the front page so I'm guessing it's something to do with the main page. I'm no expert though at this stuff so it's just a guess.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 07:28 PM   #9
cinvowell
Junior Member
 
cinvowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan, United States
Posts: 27
Default

I know I'm late to the party on this thread but when I had McAfee the viruses were going in through their programing many times and they would block all kinds of stuff that was actually safe stuff. They even blocked discs that had interactive programing. The last straw was when it took 2 months and a great deal of advice from my friends at the old ISOHunt to get rid of an especially nasty virus. What saved me is that I had a second user login because the damn thing blocked me from signing in. At their suggestion I switched to Emsisoft and have had no problems plus their program is more flexible giving you more control over it. I would never go back to McAfee again. Well, I had one problem - got hacked about 6 months ago but I don't know what they were looking for. I got a prompt that kept saying "File not found" and it wasn't me searching. I shut down the internet and did a search rooted out a trojan and haven't had any problems since. I've had Emsisoft for over 7 years.
__________________
FACE PILES OF TRIALS WITH SMILES. IT RILES THEM TO BELIEVE THAT YOU PERCEIVE THE WEB THEY WEAVE AND KEEP ON THINKING FREE - "In The Beginning" - On The Threshold Of A Dream - The Moody Blues
cinvowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 07:48 PM   #10
Lazy Bastard
Administrator
 
Lazy Bastard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

The "file not found" thing was probably the result of a broken piece of malware. Presumably, your anti-malware software detected and destroyed part of the infection, and the part that remained was attempting to run or interact with the part that was removed.
Lazy Bastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:16 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.