Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2010, 07:52 PM   #1
Burzy
Awesome Member
 
Burzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 211
Default installing windows... i knew this would suck.

"a problem is preventing windows from accurately checking the license for this computer. Error code: 0x80070002"


i just finished installing windows xp pro on my system.

my cd has a small scuff in it, i was a little worried. And now I see it was for a good reason.

my research on the error indicates my "drive letter has changed"? But the only troubleshooting suggestions i've been given are:

restart, press f8 to log on in safe mode, but the problem is i get the error when trying to log on. I enter my password, it says "loading your settings" then bam, i get the error status box.

So far I'm thinking my only recourse is to try to track down a copy of windows and try to reinstall again. (when installing i had to skip a couple of files, but installation completed anyways).

Am I wrong? am I screwed?
__________________
Burzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 08:15 PM   #2
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default

Skipping files usually prompts Windows to bitch about not having them once it gets to the familiar desktop, in which case it would try and fetch from the CD again. But since you can't even get that far, I would suggest copying the i386 folder (or as much as you can) to a hard drive and install again from there. If you're using an OEM CD then you're screwed, cause I don't know how to get the crap out of it.

If that doesn't work, you'll have to get your hands on another copy, methinks.
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 08:20 PM   #3
Burzy
Awesome Member
 
Burzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 211
Default

i have called all my favours, hopefully one of them has a cd without a scratch on it :P

Thanks for the reply though Lenophis.
__________________
Burzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 08:21 PM   #4
VT-Vincent
Senior Member
 
VT-Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 106
Default

How did you get your copy of Windows XP? Was it included with your computer from a name-brand manufacturer or purchased separately?
__________________


Twitter | Facebook | YouTube
VT-Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 11:55 PM   #5
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Very strange that it would (apparently?) install ok but then not boot. Could a file be corrupt then? I'd have thought the installer would catch this.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 02:49 AM   #6
Burzy
Awesome Member
 
Burzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 211
Default

Well here's the scoop boys, I got an old computer formatted and working well for the time being (hoo boy going from a 2gig processor and 1 gig ram to a 800Mhz and 256megs is a kick in the pills but I'm just happy to be online).

I think the main issue was the disk drive on my main system. It won't open on it's own, think it's misaligned. It must not have been reading my (just recently borrowed new XP) CD.

I wonder if It is also possible that I have changed hardware in this system so many times since the last install that it could be giving me troubles also.

Bottom Line: I've been putting off buying a new comp for a long time now, perhaps I'll try a new cd drive in it and one more try, and if issues persist, I'll just buy a new system and be done with it. I have wasted my entire day because of this lol.

I appreciate everyones suggestions. I'm just glad to be able to log on and say so
__________________
Burzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 01:55 AM   #7
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

I agree, I'd buy a new drive and try that (you can probably find a basic one cheaply enough). Glad to hear you're back for now at least...I definitely sympathize with you (eesh, that computer sounds like when I jumped from my old laptop to my current beast of a machine, but in reverse...they're seperated by several years of advances in computer technology :P).
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 06:21 PM   #8
Burzy
Awesome Member
 
Burzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 211
Default

ugh. now im out of a job and my net is cut off till friday. I'm too much of a villain to let that keep me down though. But the keyboards at CAP sites suck donkey nuts :S
__________________
Burzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:09 AM   #9
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Aww, that stinks man.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.