Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2008, 03:43 PM   #1
Sana
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default Dragon Warrior Monsters (GBC) - Savefiles from zophar.net doesn't work

Yes, I can't load these savefiles with my rom. Which version is the correct one? I only need a name, not a rom.

I tried many roms, but no one wants to accept your savefiles =/

Thanks in advance for help =)
Sana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 04:36 AM   #2
waltman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default save file must be the correct format

I use espxe 1.52, 1.60.0, and 1.70. I had a problem loading save files until i tried this. If you are using this emulator click in the menu "run bios". It will then load like a regular psx console. Navigate to the memory card option and see if a card comes up, if not, then you need to do the following. You will need a memory card manager from aldos tools to convert the save file for whatever rom you are trying to play to .mcg or .gme files, preferrably .mcg. Just double click the file after you install aldos memory card manager. Now save the file as extension whatever .mcg or select from drop down menu in save typing box. After you convert the save and place it in a folder you can locate you then need to reassign the memory card, 000, or 001 to the newly converted save file. In other words point the emulator to this new file to use as a memory card. Run bios and check memory card to see if the info comes up. If so you can now load the game saves.
waltman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 04:50 AM   #3
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waltman View Post
I use espxe 1.52, 1.60.0, and 1.70...
uh what part of "GBC" don't you understand?
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 06:34 AM   #4
waltman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default It was late at night when I read the post

Duh, Game Boy Color, sorry.
waltman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 02:27 AM   #5
gutzsant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 961
Default

The issue is not with the rom, but with the emulator. The file was created in 2000, which means it's more likely to work with emulators from that time. Specifically, it does not work with BGB or GEST, but it does with TGBdual. Try using other emulators and once it works, save when you are able to, and then try opening your .sav file with your emulator of choice. If it doesn't work, use the emulator that managed to load the .sav file.
gutzsant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 03:08 AM   #6
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

This is an SRAM file he's talking about, right? Shouldn't they be the same data no matter the emulator, unless some kind of compression is involved?
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 03:57 AM   #7
gutzsant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 961
Default

They should, but the problems is related to the way the sram is managed by some emulators. It has happened before several times. I remember specifically the many problems that happened with some Pokemon versions, specially with the GBA versions. This was mostly related to the default filesize assigned by the emulators. One could have a 32 kb file while other a 64 kb file with the same data. In the case of GB, I remember that it happened to me with some Harvest Moon games. It's not common in GB, that's for sure, but it happens from time to time. In this case I'm guessing the problem is with a relatively new GB emulator or with Virtual Gameboy Advance.
gutzsant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 03:55 AM   #8
ReyVGM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Default

I made those saves.
They were made with No$gb, but they should load fine on VBA if you select "save type SRAM" or if you go to FILE --> IMPORT Battery save.

They also worked fine on BGB.
ReyVGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 12:57 PM   #9
Sana
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

yay, it works. Thx a lot for help, guys ^__^

I'm happy now =)
Sana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 10:00 PM   #10
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sana View Post
yay, it works. Thx a lot for help, guys ^__^
I'm happy now =)
Nice !

I broke a tap (10-32 NF) today, so I'm not happy >:-|
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:22 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.