Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2009, 03:16 AM   #1
firewing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Default Genesis - Zero Tolerance level editor

Hi everyone. About 10 years ago I used to play this game, and there was one thing bothering me - I always wanted to get into those rooms that have no entrances . Recently I found out that the game's now freeware so I got the ROM and enjoyed it again, still interested in those closed rooms. I've been searching for a level editor or even just a viewer but couldn't find any, so I decided to make one myself. Initially I didn't plan to make any public releases but thought maybe someone has also been looking for such an editor, and here it is Doesn't have all of the planned features yet, so this is not a final release. For now it has viewing and basic editing features. You can get it here (didn't have any site so I had to create this one to host the editor, nothing else's there for now). Some editing instructions are in the readme file included in the archive. Please pm or email me for any feature requests, questions or in case you found any glitches.
Hope this will be useful for someone

P.S. The editor only supports ROMs in .BIN format so you need to use an SMD to BIN converter. I might add support for SMD in future releases, if requested.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ztedit.jpg
Views:	792
Size:	100.9 KB
ID:	89  
firewing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 03:37 AM   #2
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

You know, usually no one would care if you made an editor for a game that wasn't freeware.

Still, good work. I never played the game myself, but still.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 03:42 AM   #3
Maximum Potion
Staff (news - ROM hacking/translations)
 
Maximum Potion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Châteauguay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firewing View Post
P.S. The editor only supports ROMs in .BIN format so you need to use an SMD to BIN converter. I might add support for SMD in future releases, if requested.
I may be confused, but I'm pretty sure that the only difference between an .SMD and a .BIN (as far as genesis roms are concerned) is just that, the file extention.

My Dingoo A320 only supports .SMD and all I had to do was rename the file from .BIN to .SMD, if I remember correctly.

Anyways, good work!! Looks pretty cool.
__________________
Metroid: Other M. June 27th, 2010.
Delayed - August 31st, 2010.
Maximum Potion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 03:44 AM   #4
Isildur
Senior Member
 
Isildur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper man View Post
You know, usually no one would care if you made an editor for a game that wasn't freeware.
Huh?
__________________
Holding out for Hostess Snack Cakes...
Isildur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 04:01 AM   #5
firewing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximum Potion View Post
I may be confused, but I'm pretty sure that the only difference between an .SMD and a .BIN (as far as genesis roms are concerned) is just that, the file extention.
No, actually it might look like that just because many ROMs have an incorrect extension, especially many .SMD files are actually in .BIN format :-)
The differences are in that BIN files are just plain ROM data, while data in SMD is divided into blocks of even and odd bytes so I didn't want to mess with converting it in the editor .
The simple way to check the actual format of your ROM is to open it with any HEX viewer\editor. If you see "SEGA GENESIS" / "SEGA MEGA DRIVE" near the beginning of file contents, it's in .BIN format for sure. If instead there's something like "EAGNSS" / "EAMG RV" - that's an SMD
firewing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 04:15 AM   #6
Maximum Potion
Staff (news - ROM hacking/translations)
 
Maximum Potion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Châteauguay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 625
Default

Well, I guess I was confused :P
__________________
Metroid: Other M. June 27th, 2010.
Delayed - August 31st, 2010.
Maximum Potion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 04:25 AM   #7
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isildur View Post
Huh?
I think he means that no one would probably care even if the game wasn't freeware now.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 05:32 AM   #8
Isildur
Senior Member
 
Isildur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,339
Default

Ohhh, that people wouldn't mind him making an editor for a game that isn't freeware. For some stupid reason I misinterpreted the "care" part as meaning "no one is interested in an editor if it's for a game that isn't freeware", except that of course makes no sense. =P
__________________
Holding out for Hostess Snack Cakes...
Isildur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 09:17 AM   #9
chrono31
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Post So back to the topic....

It really dident tell me anything then to open windhex--> open file or table for editing-->open super mario bros--> goto search then click on goto offset-->
Input 1CCC and change the 25 to 35 to change the first level.

Which is cool. Does the go for every nes game or just smb?

I did a experiment where I changed the offset input on line 1CCC
to 2A in Castlevania and nothing happened. Except the sound was really crappy
and had some white noise....So I guess it affected the sound but the level
itself diden't change...

Can anyone give me any advice?
chrono31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 10:21 AM   #10
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrono31 View Post
It really dident tell me anything then to open.....
this is NOT on topic. Do something stupid like this again, and I will take action.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:11 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.