Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2005, 06:36 AM   #1
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default FF3us question

Anyone know where to find the data that stores what items use what byte for the "Arrange"? Example: if you use another byte value instead of the item icon that the game doesn't like (IE something not in the list) the "Arrange" command removes the item from the item list. Can't really explain it very well, just try this if you don't understand what I mean: Rename the "Dirk" dagger without the dagger icon then sort the item list and watch it disappear. If you still don't get it I can make a small IPS patch and a zmv of what I'm talking about.

<P ID="signature">
</P>
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 02:57 PM   #2
Evil Peer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 205
Default Re: FF3us question

> Rename the "Dirk" dagger without the dagger
> icon then sort the item list and watch it disappear.

If I recall correctly, you need to rename these using one or more leading spaces. Furthermore, I seem to recall that this leading space is a special character, and different from the normal spaces used elsewhere.

---T.Geiger

<P ID="signature"></P>
Evil Peer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 11:19 PM   #3
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default Re: FF3us question

> I seem to recall that this leading space is a special character, and different
> from the normal spaces used elsewhere.

Yup that's exactly my point, you have any idea how to CHANGE the special character bytes it uses? It's rather annoying.
<img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>

<P ID="signature">
</P>
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 11:07 AM   #4
Dark Knight Kain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: FF3us question

> Yup that's exactly my point, you have any idea how to CHANGE
> the special character bytes it uses? It's rather annoying.

My guess (And yes, I have no idea if this is correct or not) is that the game has a routine that checks for the value of the item's icon and uses that to stick them in "order" (Arrange doesn't actually arrange items but simply sorts them by type) with "FF" coming first (Normal items), followed by the equipment values in order. When an unknown value is found it probably just tosses it. Problem is if that were the case you could make a sword with the dagger's icon and it would still work, which doesn't work. Probably just another piss-poor coding job in the game on Square's behalf...

Actually that last remark made me think of something, why not get in touch with one of the people who make those bugfix patches for FF3us? They could probably help you solve the problem, we need a patch that lets any character be used as the icon.

<P ID="signature"><img src=http://home.earthlink.net/~dragonsbrethren/images/dkkbanner.png></P>
Dark Knight Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 11:47 AM   #5
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default Re: FF3us question

> Actually that last remark made me think of something, why
> not get in touch with one of the people who make those
> bugfix patches for FF3us? They could probably help you
> solve the problem, we need a patch that lets any character
> be used as the icon.

AGREED! That's exactly what we need. Now how do I find assassin17 or whomever else messes around with ASM stuff in FF3us?



<P ID="signature">
</P>
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 12:39 AM   #6
Master ZED
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 32
Default Re: FF3us question

> AGREED! That's exactly what we need. Now how do I find
> assassin17 or whomever else messes around with ASM stuff in
> FF3us?
>

http://www.mnrogar.com/phpBB2/index.phpMnrogar's Den message board</a>

You can PM him there.

<P ID="signature">The Unoriginal White Sheet - for the most trivial FF3/6j information out there!
-Master ZED</P>
Master ZED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 12:17 PM   #7
assassin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default Re: FF3us question

seems like only yesterday, doesn't it?

http://www14.brinkster.com/assassin17/patches.htm OR
http://assassin17.home.comcast.net/patches.htm
assassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 02:39 AM   #8
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default Re: FF3us question

> seems like only yesterday, doesn't it?
>
> http://www14.brinkster.com/assassin17/patches.htm OR
> http://assassin17.home.comcast.net/patches.htm

Fucking fantastic work. This is definately useful for alot of people including myself. This makes me want to edit FF3us again! Thank you sir you rock.
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 03:56 AM   #9
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: FF3us question

> seems like only yesterday, doesn't it?

Oooh, nice. <img src=smilies/thumb.gif>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.