Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2006, 12:06 PM   #1
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default What are some of your "trouble" roms?

...And no, I'm not talking about finding them. I mean, do you have any emulators that you double up on just to play a particular rom? Say you use NESterJ for all your NES needs, but you have some obscure game that just won't work unless you run it in NESticle.

Anyone?
<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 12:08 PM   #2
pipes
Senior Member
 
pipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,883
Default Re: What are some of your "trouble" roms?

Any FX game on SNES.
<P ID="signature">The pipes clangor all the time!</P>
__________________
The pipes never clangor.
pipes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 12:15 PM   #3
JadussD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: What are some of your "trouble" roms?

> Anyone?
>

Actraiser 2 for Super NES. Latest WIP release STILL doesn't run this game again, you have to use a way older version of ZSNES or Snes9x to play it.
<P ID="signature"></P>
JadussD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 02:16 PM   #4
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: What are some of your "trouble" roms?

That's wild. I mostly play my emus on my Xbox, which I know are generally older ports. So, like, I can't play "Teen Titans" on the GBA emulator, but sure, ActRaiser 2 worked fine for me when I tried it...
<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 02:16 PM   #5
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: What are some of your "trouble" roms?

Any specific recommendations on emulators for the FX chips?
<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 03:22 PM   #6
JadussD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: What are some of your "trouble" roms?

> That's wild. I mostly play my emus on my Xbox, which I know
> are generally older ports. So, like, I can't play "Teen
> Titans" on the GBA emulator, but sure, ActRaiser 2 worked
> fine for me when I tried it...
>

I don't think there's a version of ZSNES for the XBOX is there? It wouldn't be portable without going through a bunch of hoops...sure they have the same processor, but the ASM code wouldn't work for calls to other hardware, unless the memory map is exactly the same as a PC's...hmm, is it?
<P ID="signature"></P>
JadussD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 03:38 PM   #7
MonsieurSirhan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 429
Default Re: What are some of your "trouble" roms?

> Actraiser 2 for Super NES. Latest WIP release STILL doesn't
> run this game again, you have to use a way older version of
> ZSNES or Snes9x to play it.

Play the (E) version man.
<P ID="signature">_- | -_
</P>
MonsieurSirhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 03:39 PM   #8
MonsieurSirhan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 429
Default Re: What are some of your "trouble" roms?

Sink or Swim. it suck anyway :P

ANd I like BoycottAdvance better than VBA (in terms of performace), but several games won't play :/
<P ID="signature">_- | -_
</P>
MonsieurSirhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 04:15 PM   #9
JadussD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: What are some of your "trouble" roms?

> Play the (E) version man.
>

You know, that was suggested to me, and I tried it. It didn't work. Now I tried it again. It works.
<P ID="signature"></P>
JadussD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 04:19 PM   #10
JadussD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,100
Default Thanks *nt*

> > Play the (E) version man.
> >
>
> You know, that was suggested to me, and I tried it. It
> didn't work. Now I tried it again. It works.
>
<P ID="signature"></P>
JadussD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.