Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2005, 04:12 AM   #11
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: ZSNES...buggy?

> I've always considered SNES9X to be the superior emulator,
> myself. Only reason I ever kept a copy of ZSNES on hand is
> because it's like NESticle, it's the only one people bother
> programming hacks for.

I seem to recall reading somewhere of StarFox 2 working as well as it does in Snes9x because of a hack. <img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif> It was a dev forum somewhere...can't remember where exactly.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 06:19 AM   #12
Kaji
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35
Default Re: ZSNES...buggy?

> The general problem with snes emus nowadays is the intent of
> getting rid of game specific hacks. Zsnes used to have been
> infested with usch. Supposedly nowadays most is being
> cleaned up. Which is why some stuff that used to work right
> with such workarounds now are all weird.

So the short of it is that the old development paradigm was to build a shell to run stuff, and then test ROMs on it and design things specifically to deal with the ones that didn't run properly, whereas now they're trying to take that stuff out and make it all run based off the core shell? Considering the fact that almost every SNES game out there has been successfully emulated under one emulator or another at some point, it seems a bit counterproductive...
Kaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 06:35 AM   #13
MegaManJuno
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: WV
Posts: 626
Default Re: ZSNES...buggy?

The whole point is to try and emulate the games properly, instead of using hacks in the emulator in order to get them to run.

Basically, if it requires a hack to run the game, something's wrong with the emulation core, and they're trying to fix that.
MegaManJuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 07:22 AM   #14
Kaji
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35
Default Re: ZSNES...buggy?

> The whole point is to try and emulate the games properly,
> instead of using hacks in the emulator in order to get them
> to run. Basically, if it requires a hack to run the game,
> something's wrong with the emulation core, and they're
> trying to fix that.>

Ah, I think I see what you're saying there. Wouldn't you still need a couple hacks to accomodate things such as StarFox's FX chip that was built into the cartridge, or is it being built with the expectation that support for that would be put into the ROM so as to maintain a purer core?
Kaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 01:13 PM   #15
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: ZSNES...buggy?

> I seem to recall reading somewhere of StarFox 2 working as
> well as it does in Snes9x because of a hack. It was a dev
> forum somewhere...can't remember where exactly.

Must be a bloody good hack then. I have never seen ZSNES run it as good, not even in versions that were specifically modified to run it.
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 02:58 PM   #16
MooglyGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 4,014
Default Re: ZSNES...buggy?

> Ah, I think I see what you're saying there. Wouldn't you
> still need a couple hacks to accomodate things such as
> StarFox's FX chip that was built into the cartridge, or is
> it being built with the expectation that support for that
> would be put into the ROM so as to maintain a purer core?

Why would you need a hack to support the SuperFX chip, the DSP chips, or the SA-1 chip? According to the SNES hardware docs that Nintendo provided to developers (I have both books in my possession), there's a byte in the ROM's internal game information section (this is separate from the SNES ROM header, mind you) which says what type of add-on chip the game uses. Therefore, it would not be a hack to read that byte and then enable whatever add-on chip the game used. Besides, SuperFX emulation is not a game-specific hack. A whole bunch of games used it, including (but not limited to) Starfox, Yoshi's Island, Vortex, and Stunt Race FX.
MooglyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2005, 04:03 AM   #17
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: ZSNES...buggy?

> Must be a bloody good hack then. I have never seen ZSNES run
> it as good, not even in versions that were specifically
> modified to run it.

Well that's what I heard it was. I don't hate SNES9x or anything. And from what I heard, the timing of the SFX 2 is apparently a pain in the ass to get right. I dunno though, could be just hearsay. :P
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2005, 05:45 AM   #18
SivakDrac
Senior Member
 
SivakDrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 903
Default Re: Another new problem.

Yeah. I've seen this too. I think it was there since the beginning stages of ZSNES. Sometimes the cursor disappears in combat too. Who knows what it could be?
SivakDrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 09:40 PM   #19
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default Re: ZSNES...buggy?

Is that what "Mode 7" means?
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 10:36 PM   #20
puzzl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: ZSNES...buggy?

> Is that what "Mode 7" means?
>

This is mode 7. Never played the game in question, so I don't know if he was refering to it or not, but that should clear it up anyhow.
puzzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:02 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.