Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2007, 01:36 AM   #1
sweetkool_ind93
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 153
Default Getting a better AGP/PCI card

What do you guys recommend for a Dell OptiPlex GX1 with an already-built-in RAGE PRO TURBO AGP 2x?
<P ID="signature">"Now serving number 67." ~Sam Fisher</P>
sweetkool_ind93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 03:47 AM   #2
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: Getting a better AGP/PCI card

> What do you guys recommend for a Dell OptiPlex GX1 with an
> already-built-in RAGE PRO TURBO AGP 2x?

<a href=http://www.newegg.com/>Building a new computer.</a>
<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 04:02 AM   #3
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Getting a better AGP/PCI card

> What do you guys recommend for a Dell OptiPlex GX1 with an
> already-built-in RAGE PRO TURBO AGP 2x?

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't Rage Pro's well...fairly ancient? What are the other specs of the machine? It's possible that they might end up being more of a bottleneck than the graphics card to performance in games if the PC is old enough.
<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD
In the post there is a cow...</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 04:48 AM   #4
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: Getting a better AGP/PCI card

> Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't Rage Pro's
> well...fairly ancient? What are the other specs of the
> machine?

according to dell, it's either a PII or a PIII. He needs to build a new machine.
<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 08:57 PM   #5
sweetkool_ind93
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 153
Default Re: Getting a better AGP/PCI card

> according to dell, it's either a PII or a PIII. He needs to
> build a new machine.

It's a PIII 450 Mhz with 192 MB removable SDRAM. The R.P. has 4 MB VRAM. The thing can run DirectX 9.0c. I can run MS Train Simulator full crank. It's, yes, 8 years old. Once my bro gats a job, he's getting a hella lot better Emachines from Walmart. IDK, it may also be the fact that I have a 6 GB drive. I'm only 14 years old.

<P ID="signature">"Now serving number 67." ~Sam Fisher</P><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by sweetkool_ind93 on 03/05/07 04:00 PM.</FONT></P>
sweetkool_ind93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 09:00 PM   #6
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,787
Default Re: Getting a better AGP/PCI card

Stay away from eMachines, acer and the like.
<P ID="signature">
</P>
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 09:16 PM   #7
sweetkool_ind93
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 153
Default Re: Getting a better AGP/PCI card

Oh. 'Kay.
<P ID="signature">"Now serving number 67." ~Sam Fisher</P>
sweetkool_ind93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 11:53 PM   #8
DarkLordSigma
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: Getting a better AGP/PCI card

Kill yourself for buying a Dell.

Then build a new system.
<P ID="signature"></P>
DarkLordSigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 01:11 AM   #9
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,941
Default Re: Getting a better AGP/PCI card

> Kill yourself for buying a Dell.
>
> Then build a new system.
>
I don't know. My aunt bought a Dell and it wasn't close to top of the line and that thing runs smooth and fast. Now if you said Gateway I would hand him the gun myself. <img src=smilies/laff.gif>
<P ID="signature">Get off your ass and do it because it isn't going to happen on it's own no matter how much you wish it would.</P>
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 03:02 AM   #10
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Getting a better AGP/PCI card

> It's a PIII 450 Mhz with 192 MB removable SDRAM. The R.P.
> has 4 MB VRAM. The thing can run DirectX 9.0c. I can run MS
> Train Simulator full crank. It's, yes, 8 years old. Once my
> bro gats a job, he's getting a hella lot better Emachines
> from Walmart. IDK, it may also be the fact that I have a 6
> GB drive. I'm only 14 years old.

You're definitely better off with an upgraded computer...a better video card won't really help you much. You could maybe get an old Radeon 7000 or something like that if you could find one (eBay?). Probably could get it for cheap, and it'd be better than the Rage Pro. Be more than the machine could handle really, but it might improve performance.
<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD
In the post there is a cow...</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.