Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2006, 07:29 PM   #1
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default P4 1.5Ghz vs P4 XEON 1.5Ghz

Ok so let me setup my question with some background info first. For those who don't know here are the specs of my system:



And if you notice I'm not using hardly any virtual memory and my system isn't being leeched of it's resources. And before I get started I DO know that just because I have 2 CPUs does not mean the clock speed stacks, this is why I've referred my system as a 1.5Ghz and not 3.0Ghz. Here's my main question, what are the main differences between a P4 XEON chip vs a regular P4 of the same speeds--FSB and clock (in my case 400Mhz FSB)? My reason for asking this question is half to do with my general curiosity and the other half is emulation. Every single emulator (and any PC Game) runs just as good on my machine as it does with a regular P4 of the same (or slightly better) speeds...except for one and only on certain games. I own a Nintendo DS as you may or may not be aware of and I also own the Final Fantasties on the GBA--as much as I love my DS I'd rather emulate them on my computer connected to my TV. Problem is in FF4a for instance any of the pseudo Mode-7 the emulation goes down to less than 75% and it is not playable...even with the speed button (which does nothing). I have noticed a normal P4 with the same video card play this at near full speed (95%+) and a old ass 1.3Ghz AMD with a regular 128MB video card. So what gives? My RAM is fast and I have plenty of it, my video card does not suck (no nVidia bashing in here please), and 1.5Ghz should be enough to play this at full speed or close enough to it...so what gives? Frame skipping doesn't help either BTW. Oh and games like Half-Life 2 run perfectly fine with the full options set so I know my system doesn't suck.

So anyone (probably CEpeep) seen any difference between these two on a non-server/database application? I run anything just as well as any other P4 so it just must be some chip code(s) or somthing that's the culprit.
<P ID="signature"><center>

coolieranx: I think accepting Christ should at least be worth a PlayStation 3</center></P>
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 09:30 PM   #2
Kitsune Sniper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,661
Default Re: P4 1.5Ghz vs P4 XEON 1.5Ghz

... Problem is in FF4a for
> instance any of the pseudo Mode-7 the emulation goes down to
> less than 75% and it is not playable...even with the speed
> button (which does nothing). I have noticed a normal P4
> with the same video card play this at near full speed (95%+)
> and a old ass 1.3Ghz AMD with a regular 128MB video card.

I'm not bashing your card, I'm bashing the drivers.

That and the problem may be because of the rendering system you're using. I don't remember but one of 'em was insanely slower than the other. I forget which is which. My computer is only marginally better than yours and I don't have any issues, so I'm sticking to my driver theory.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Kitsune Sniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 11:41 PM   #3
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default Re: P4 1.5Ghz vs P4 XEON 1.5Ghz

> I'm not bashing your card, I'm bashing the drivers.

> That and the problem may be because of the rendering system
> you're using. I don't remember but one of 'em was insanely
> slower than the other. I forget which is which. My computer
> is only marginally better than yours and I don't have any
> issues, so I'm sticking to my driver theory.

I was a little behind on my drivers, so I'll update them now. I was using DirectDraw, which render method is the best? Still, the other normal P4 uses the same settings as this machine...<img src=smilies/eek13.gif>
<P ID="signature"><center>

coolieranx: I think accepting Christ should at least be worth a PlayStation 3</center></P>
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 03:02 PM   #4
Leldorion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 105
Default Re: P4 1.5Ghz vs P4 XEON 1.5Ghz

Have you tried minimizing the emulator, doing a quick ctrl+alt+del and then setting the affinity to only one processor? I know that my dual core box runs that crap choppy (sound in my case as well as other things) unless I set it to only one processor.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Leldorion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 05:32 PM   #5
icenine0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,958
Default Re: P4 1.5Ghz vs P4 XEON 1.5Ghz

http://www.mlin.net/SMPSeesaw.shtmlSMP Seesaw</A> is a cool utility for this.
<P ID="signature"></P>
icenine0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 08:18 PM   #6
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: P4 1.5Ghz vs P4 XEON 1.5Ghz

> I was a little behind on my drivers, so I'll update them
> now. I was using DirectDraw, which render method is the
> best?

In my experience, OpenGL or Direct3D are a bit faster. My PC has been borderline with GBA emulation in the past, and OpenGL or Direct3D were noticably faster than DirectDraw in those cases. But between the two, I would say OpenGL was faster than Direct3D.
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 08:32 PM   #7
SirDaShadow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: P4 1.5Ghz vs P4 XEON 1.5Ghz

>
> So anyone (probably CEpeep) seen any difference between
> these two on a non-server/database application? I run

Change your desktop to 16bit color instead of 32bit color and try again...if using Fullscreen, make sure you are using 16bit color and let me know...
<P ID="signature"></P>
SirDaShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:12 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.