Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2006, 12:57 AM   #1
GreatWhiteDope3x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default .BIN Question

I want to rip some graphics from Castlevania: Syphony of the Night. Obviously it would be a very tedious process to take frame by frame screenshots and cutting out the sprites I need. So I decided to look into other ways I could get them, like maybe use a graphics hacker if there was ever one made for PS ISO's. After I extracted the main .BIN file I notice it contaned a lot of different files including many other .BINs that couldn't be opened as they weren't valid ISO's. I searched zophar.net for some tools to see if there was anything there I could use and found PSicture. If I open some files as raw they contain distorted graphics, for example here is a screen capture of MONSTERS.BIN:


From top to bottom you can make out a distorted Dracula, Blood Skeleton, Bat, Stone Skull, Zombie, ext.

If I increase the address it shows different frames of those monsters but still distorted. Is there anyway to have them not be distorted or any other programs I can use to view or extract those .BIN files? Thanks in advance to anyone who helps.
<P ID="signature"></P>
GreatWhiteDope3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 01:11 AM   #2
CEpeep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: .BIN Question

Use an emulator that will let you disable sprite layers and take a series of screeshots of each of the sprites that you want to rip. This is how spritesheets are made. Entire character sprites are rarely found consecutively and in their entirety within a ROM. Usually the individual tiles are split up, or simply mangled like what you're running into. If you use an emulator that will let you disable the sprite layers you don't need, the process is fairly quick and easy.

<P ID="signature">http://vote5chuckpoland.ytmnd.com/<font size="-2">WOAH THIS BASS IS INTENSE</font></a></P>
CEpeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 02:11 AM   #3
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: .BIN Question

> Use an emulator that will let you disable sprite layers

Does PSX even use layers? I thought it was just your standard 2D polygon rendering system -- in which case the emu wouldn't know a BG tile from a sprite tile from its ass.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 02:27 AM   #4
GreatWhiteDope3x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: .BIN Question

> > Use an emulator that will let you disable sprite layers
>
> Does PSX even use layers? I thought it was just your
> standard 2D polygon rendering system -- in which case the
> emu wouldn't know a BG tile from a sprite tile from its ass.
>

Yeah, I believe Disch is correct. If PSX did use layers I wouldn't be going through this trouble.. ._.
<P ID="signature"></P>
GreatWhiteDope3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 03:10 AM   #5
Kitsune Sniper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,661
Default Re: .BIN Question

> Yeah, I believe Disch is correct. If PSX did use layers I
> wouldn't be going through this trouble.. ._.

I do recall one plugin which replaced or outright removed some sprite layers in Jojo's Bizarre Adventure. It depends on the game.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Kitsune Sniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 03:13 AM   #6
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: .BIN Question

> Thanks in advance to anyone who helps.

<center><img src=http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c196/reaper_man/tightenupthegraphics.png>
I win.
(psst, use a width of 96)
</center>


btw, those are the images you see in the in-game bestiary [img]/wwwthreads/images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 05:27 PM   #7
GreatWhiteDope3x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: .BIN Question

> btw, those are the images you see in the in-game bestiary

Crap, I thought I actually found something too... :\ Happen to have any idea where the real frames are or if they can even be viewed cause I checked most every file with PSicture. Maybe somewhere in the oversized XA_STR1. file? ._.
<P ID="signature"></P>
GreatWhiteDope3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 11:05 PM   #8
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: .BIN Question

> Crap, I thought I actually found something too... :\ Happen
> to have any idea where the real frames are or if they can
> even be viewed cause I checked most every file with
> PSicture. Maybe somewhere in the oversized XA_STR1. file?
> ._.


the XA_STR file contains all of the music and spoken dialog in the game (sans a couple of pieces of music, which is synthezised. ) In other words, don't bother.

as far as I know, the graphics are stored in a 4bbp format, but they aren't truely RAW format. Someone that actually has ripped them claimed that the data was nybble swapped and that you had to rearrange the data in order to see it correctly

BTW, what ARE you looking to rip anyway, Alucard maybe? I have that if you want it. [img]/wwwthreads/images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2006, 02:04 AM   #9
GreatWhiteDope3x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: .BIN Question

> BTW, what ARE you looking to rip anyway, Alucard maybe? I
> have that if you want it.

Well, I was looking to make a sort of Castlevania Online game, I have always thought an online castlevania side scroller would be cool and was thinking of using the graphics from SotN. So basically I could use all I can get. But for now, I am iceing the project to make something smaller so I can get familiar with Game Maker 6, which I planned on using to make it easier on me. :P
<P ID="signature"></P>
GreatWhiteDope3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2006, 03:17 AM   #10
Dark Knight Kain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: .BIN Question

Anapan kinda <del>has</del> had you beat in both areas:

http://www.geocities.com/anapan8/cv/
http://www.geocities.com/anapan8/cvo/frames2.html
<P ID="signature"><center>
http://dragonsbrethren.elazulspad.net/</a>
</center></P>
Dark Knight Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:20 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.