Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2006, 04:53 AM   #1
apolaris82
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default Final Fantasy VI modifying

Hi,

I've never attempted using any form of hack program for anything. Since playing Awful Fantasy by the Something Awful forums though, I've wanted to make my own version of Final Fantasy III/VI playable on ZSNES, based on a role playing group I run at home (I currently dorm at college).

I don't necessarily want to change the sprites, although I might attempt this. I do want to change: the characters'/major NPCs' names, almost all of the text, characters' stats and starting levels (for instance, changing Mog's starting level to 1 above party average instead of 5 above), characters' abilities, who can equip what, enemies' stats (mostly HP), magic/special attack names, equipment names/stats/what spells they can teach, what the espers give you as bonuses when you level up, and a few other things but that's most of it. As a comlpete newbie to this whole business, I'll need to know what I have to download, what each program does, how to use it, and so on. I want the result to be as non-buggy as possible (i.e. no "TCC" style problems from awful fantasy at the beginning of every fight in the magic tower.)

As I'm likely to forget I even posted this or joined the forum at all, given my stress with 7 classes and an actuarial exam, I'd like to ask that any responses also please be emailed to the_final_task82@yahoo.com. Thank you in advance,

AP
<P ID="signature"></P>
apolaris82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 05:04 AM   #2
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Final Fantasy VI modifying

<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

I'll need to know what I have to download, what each program does, how to use it, and so on.

<hr></blockquote>
You'll need to download this, which is by and large the best all-around (but not complete) utility to hack up FF6. There's also another program called "FF3Ed," but it is....rather unreliable. Even the bug fix version is still pretty buggy.
<P ID="signature"><center><img src=http://leno.hypher.net/images/slick.png border=0 title="How Slick are you?">
Slickness factor of 10.</center></P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 03:50 AM   #3
apolaris82
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Final Fantasy VI modifying

Hi,

Well it's been a day and I haven't forgotten about all this. I checked out that tool and it's cool and all, but 1. Is there a way to change the game's text and NPC names with it? 2. Is there a way to put characters' levels beyond the 5 above average limit? For instance I want to replace Banon with Merlin and make him level 99. Is this possible? And 3. Can I get any characters other than Terra and Celes to begin with magic? On my current plan it's crucial that Edgar's replacement has most of the healing magic learned as he's going to be a very high level cleric.
<P ID="signature"></P>
apolaris82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:19 PM   #4
apolaris82
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default Sprites

Hi again,

In addition to my previous questions I'd also like to know: is there anywhere I can find a complete collection of sprites for FF3/6? I downloaded the zip file FF7beta and patched it onto one of my games, then deleted it, but since then it seems compelled to patch those sprites automatically onto every FF3/6 ROM I have, even ones I downloaded after having gotten rid of FF7beta. I'd also like an idea of how to edit the sprites as I've always had difficulty with that sort of thing. (For instance, making Gau into Lonewolf)

Thanks in advance,

AP
<P ID="signature"></P>
apolaris82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 10:51 AM   #5
orogo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: Final Fantasy VI modifying

<img src=smilies/cry.gif> anybody known a dungeon editor or event editor for final fantasy 3/6 ?
Chrono Trigger has the Temporal Flux editor, but ff3/6 not.
Why?? <img src=smilies/mystery.gif>
<img src=smilies/eek13.gif>
<P ID="signature"></P>
orogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 02:36 PM   #6
Dark Knight Kain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: Final Fantasy VI modifying

> Why??

There's a map editor in production, and more than likely it will edit events.
<P ID="signature"><center>
http://dragonsbrethren.elazulspad.net/</a>
</center></P>
Dark Knight Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 10:27 AM   #7
orogo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: Final Fantasy VI modifying

> There's a map editor in production, and more than likely it
> will edit events.

Thanks Kain,<img src=smilies/upeyes.gif> but it will edit and add new dungeons, monsters or espers in the rom? Do you have a Web site of the editor for me indicate?
Please?<img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>
<img src=smilies/thumb.gif>
<P ID="signature"></P>
orogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 01:17 PM   #8
Dark Knight Kain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: Final Fantasy VI modifying

http://www.mnrogar.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=373

Adding maps and such is unlikely but not impossible if the game has extra space for maps. More than likely there will be some "dummied" maps that you can take advantage of.

Also, I just realized I never responded to your other posts, your best bet for editing dialog is the hacked version of FF3Ed found on this very site (Just don't do anything with it other than hacking the dialog, the program loves messing up your ROM), for other text download the table files from Lord J's site and use WindHex32 to edit the text. If you need help with tables and such, go here.
<P ID="signature"><center>
http://dragonsbrethren.elazulspad.net/</a>
</center></P>
Dark Knight Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 05:03 PM   #9
orogo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: Final Fantasy VI modifying

>
Thanks Kain<img src=smilies/laff.gif>
I have a problem: do you know as to make the lore meteo in ff3/6 working equal meteo in ff5(multiple hits with damage and hit tax randomized? I am using ff3us editor that you indicated.) Do you can give tips to me?<img src=smilies/banghead.gif><img src=smilies/thumb.gif>
<P ID="signature"></P>
orogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 05:23 PM   #10
Dark Knight Kain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: Final Fantasy VI modifying

> I have a problem: do you know as to make the lore meteo in
> ff3/6 working equal meteo in ff5(multiple hits with damage
> and hit tax randomized? I am using ff3us editor that you
> indicated.) Do you can give tips to me?

FF6 doesn't support multiple hits like that, as far as I know.
<P ID="signature"><center>
http://dragonsbrethren.elazulspad.net/</a>
</center></P>
Dark Knight Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.