Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2005, 05:03 PM   #1
MikeK102
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

OK, I'm trying to fix the "Lemon can't equip anything" bug in the Shining Force 2 ROM that I have. My game is currently saved in Galam, right after Chaz and Lemon joined the force in Yeel. I have not played the short battle with the Hydra as the leader yet.

I downloaded the Save-State program, but when I tried to use it, I got an error message saying "A required .DLL file, VB40032, was not found." <img src=smilies/angryfire.gif>

So then I tried downloading GenEdit. I tried each of the .exe files once, but I don't know if any of that did anything. So when I went back to the game to see if he could equip anything, I found that no he still couldn't.

So now I have no idea what to do. I wasn't really sure how to fix the problem to begin with, but now I'm just totally lost.

Does someone know the exact process that I need to go through to fix this?
MikeK102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 05:31 PM   #2
Ugly Joe
Senior Member
 
Ugly Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,461
Default Re: Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

> I downloaded the Save-State program, but when I tried to use
> it, I got an error message saying "A required .DLL file,
> VB40032, was not found."

It needs the VB4 runtimes in order to run. You can get them from Microsoft http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...-us/vb4run.exehere</a>.
__________________
Ugly Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 05:49 PM   #3
MikeK102
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

> It needs the VB4 runtimes in order to run. You can get them
> from Microsoft here.
>

OK, I downloaded the runtimes, and when I went to open the .exe file, it gave me a self-extractor notice. So I unzipped the files and saved them to a VB4Run folder. I then moved that folder into the system folder (C:\WINDOWS\System) and tried running Save-State again, only to get the same error message as before. <img src=smilies/banghead.gif>

What did I do wrong?
MikeK102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 06:02 PM   #4
Ugly Joe
Senior Member
 
Ugly Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,461
Default Re: Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

> I then moved
> that folder into the system folder (C:\WINDOWS\System) and
> tried running Save-State again, only to get the same error
> message as before.

Move the files out of the vb4run folder and put them directly in the windows\system directory. If that doesn't work, try copying them into the same folder as the application you're trying to run.
__________________
Ugly Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 06:06 PM   #5
MikeK102
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

> Move the files out of the vb4run folder and put them
> directly in the windows\system directory. If that doesn't
> work, try copying them into the same folder as the
> application you're trying to run.
>

Check.

Now how do I convert my save-game file from a .ksb file to a .gs0 file so Save-Edit can use it?
MikeK102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 06:43 PM   #6
Ugly Joe
Senior Member
 
Ugly Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,461
Default Re: Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

> Now how do I convert my save-game file from a .ksb file to a
> .gs0 file so Save-Edit can use it?

I'm not too familiar with Genesis emulation, so someone else will have to field that one.
__________________
Ugly Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 12:13 AM   #7
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

> Check.
>
> Now how do I convert my save-game file from a .ksb file to a
> .gs0 file so Save-Edit can use it?

If this is a stupid question, please don't shoot me, but if the bug is a problem with your ROM, how is mucking about with your Shining Force Savestates going to fix the bug? Won't it just reoccur?
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 12:28 AM   #8
MikeK102
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

OK, I've been able to convert the file to something the program can use. Now all I need to know is what exactly do I need to edit in the program to fix the bug?

I checked the program's Help menu, and it said that things marked with an asterisk are equipped items. Well, clicking on Lemon in the character list doesn't change what items are asterisked. Furthermore, all his stats are set to values of "000", but that's the case for several other characters as well, and they're fine.

So I'm left wondering that if everything appears to be A-OK, why is not everything A-OK?
MikeK102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 12:35 AM   #9
MikeK102
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

> If this is a stupid question, please don't shoot me, but if
> the bug is a problem with your ROM, how is mucking about
> with your Shining Force Savestates going to fix the bug?
> Won't it just reoccur?
>

Well like I said, I'm wondering what the exact process of fixing the problem is. I don't even know if it's GenEdit that I need to use or Save-Edit.
MikeK102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 12:59 AM   #10
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Need Help Fixing SF2 Bug

> OK, I've been able to convert the file to something the
> program can use. Now all I need to know is what exactly do I
> need to edit in the program to fix the bug?

I'd guess you could probably force him to be equipped with stuff using an editor like that. I guess that'd get around your bug, but wouldn't exactly fix it.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.