Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2006, 12:28 AM   #1
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Need testing / ego boost

So I've been working on an NES emu on-again off-again. It's pretty decent, if I do say so myself... well, if you take it for what it is.

I'm just doing the "back" end emu portion now. Which means pretty much ALL this is is th emulator. Not bells or whistles, no config, very little options -- pretty much just the bare minimum to run the thing is available. The "back" will hopefully be able to plug into a "front" (user interface + options + possibly debugger etc) which I want some guy to make for me (some guy known as bbitmaster of FCEUXD fame) but he's been busy with other projects as of late. So I've been sitting on this for quite some time.

But anyway yeah... thought I'd throw it out there for anyone interested and possibly even expose a bug or two.

http://disch.panicus.org/schpune.ziphttp://disch.panicus.org/schpune.zip</a>

Be sure to read the readme

Do not redistrubute plzkthx. Special ZMD exclusive!!!!!!!1111

Feedback comments/complaints welcome and desired
<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 01:03 AM   #2
CEpeep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: Need testing / ego boost

> Feedback comments/complaints welcome and desired
>

Make it work on Mac OS so I can try it out. <img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>
<P ID="signature"><font size="-2">Communism doesn't work because people like to own stuff ~ Frank Zappa</font></P>
CEpeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 01:06 AM   #3
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: Need testing / ego boost

> Make it work on Mac OS so I can try it out.

If bbit gets on board we're planning a wxWidgets+SDL front. That means there will finally be a respectable emu for Linux and Mac.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 01:06 AM   #4
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,941
Default Re: Need testing / ego boost

> > Feedback comments/complaints welcome and desired
> >
>
> Make it work on Mac OS so I can try it out.
>
Hahahahaha. <img src=smilies/laff.gif>
<P ID="signature">Definition of Gross: Finding a used condom at the bottom of your jar of mayonaise. </P>
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 01:55 AM   #5
pipes
Senior Member
 
pipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,883
Default Re: Need testing / ego boost

Is it faster then the last?<img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>
Because you know that would rock!<img src=smilies/thumb.gif>
<P ID="signature">The pipes clangor all the time!</P>
__________________
The pipes never clangor.
pipes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 02:09 AM   #6
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: Need testing / ego boost

> Is it faster then the last?
> Because you know that would rock!

Possibly

I split the renderer in 2 -- a coarse, faster renderer for drawing full scanlines, and a slower, finer renderer for drawing partial scanlines (or really, it's split into 4, since there are 'on' and 'off' versions of each).

CHR ROM is fully decoded on load, and CHR RAM is decoded as it's changed. Doing so not only avoids rendertime 2bpp decoding, but also provided me the opportunity to employ some bitmask tricks to apply attributes and transparency without the use of conditionals ("out = pixel & attrib;" instead of "out = pixel ? (pixel | attrib) : 0;") Might not seem like a WHOLE lot -- but when you consider pixel decoding and an extra conditional being done for every pixel, every frame (256x240x60 = 3686400 times per second), it can add up.

IRQs are a bit sharper -- notably MMC3. Probably not something you noticed, but previously I was doing the old "count every HBlank" trick for MMC3 -- now I'm actually doing things right (watching A12 rises). The Mario Adventure hack now screws up like it should (but would most people consider that a good thing?).
<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 01:19 AM   #7
blargg
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Default Re: Need testing / ego boost

> That means there will finally be a respectable emu for Linux and Mac.


What about http://www.bannister.org/software/nestopia.htmNestopia</a> and http://forums.emuscene.com/viewtopic.php?p=30177QuickNES</a> for Mac?
<P ID="signature"></P>
blargg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 01:55 AM   #8
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: Need testing / ego boost

> What about Nestopia and QuickNES for Mac?

!

I didn't know NEStopia had a port for Mac. And I should've known you released one by now, but you never gave wind of any release on the nesdev boards (why not?)

So yeah... nevermind then.

Though that still leaves Linux to question. I know Mednafen and FCEU have Linux builds, but from what I hear they're less than fun to use (my own brief experiences with Mednafen on Windows have been sort of 'meh'). Has NEStopia been built for Linux? I would assume it has now if there's a Mac build... but you never know.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 03:27 AM   #9
icenine0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,958
Default Re: Need testing / ego boost

I've been using it with Dragoon X Omega II for a bit. One thing I noticed: there's a sort of "mirroring" effect at the top and bottom of the screen while walking around that doesn't happen in NEStopia.

Other than that, everything looks good and accurate. Nice job!
<P ID="signature"></P>
icenine0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 03:50 AM   #10
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: Need testing / ego boost

> I've been using it with Dragoon X Omega II for a bit. One
> thing I noticed: there's a sort of "mirroring" effect at the
> top and bottom of the screen while walking around that
> doesn't happen in NEStopia.

Vertical scrolling + Vertical mirroing (as is the case in Final Fantasy / DXOII) produces that effect. The reason it is not visible in other emulators is because they hide the top and bottom 8 scanlines from the user when in NTSC mode (which is something this backend does not currently do, but it's left open for the front to do)

> Other than that, everything looks good and accurate. Nice
> job!

Thanks ^^
<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:29 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.