Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2006, 05:57 AM   #1
cartman414
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

Even though I've got the bios in the same library, I keep getting a grey screen whenever I load up an FDS game. First time I've been having this kind of a problem. Am I missing a .dll or something?
<P ID="signature"></P>
cartman414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 12:12 PM   #2
LeviathanMist
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Default Re: Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

Maybe the ROM is corrupt. Try it on another emulator that supports FDS (I like LoopyNES) and see if it works there, and if not, try to find a better copy of the ROM.
<P ID="signature"></P>
LeviathanMist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 08:24 PM   #3
cartman414
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

> Maybe the ROM is corrupt. Try it on another emulator that
> supports FDS (I like LoopyNES) and see if it works there,
> and if not, try to find a better copy of the ROM.
>

Can't be the bios. I loaded it itself and it worked just fine.
<P ID="signature"></P>
cartman414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 09:04 PM   #4
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

> Can't be the bios. I loaded it itself and it worked just
> fine.

He didn't say the bios. He said the rom. You know, the FDS rom? The game?
<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 10:01 PM   #5
blargg
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Default Re: Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

Famicom DISK System games come on a disk (or disk image, if using an emulator). The BIOS is the only ROM involved.
blargg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 10:34 PM   #6
cartman414
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

> > Can't be the bios. I loaded it itself and it worked just
> > fine.
>
> He didn't say the bios. He said the rom. You know, the FDS
> rom? The game?
>

Tried several roms, and none have worked so far. I think I'll try fwNES, my FDS emu of choice from long ago.
<P ID="signature"></P>
cartman414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 03:20 AM   #7
cartman414
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

Just tried it with loopyNES and everything works fine. Might be fceu or something.
<P ID="signature"></P>
cartman414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 03:50 AM   #8
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

> Just tried it with loopyNES and everything works fine. Might
> be fceu or something.

All the same.

I wouldn't recommend FCEU for FDS anyway -- in fact I'd advise against it because it overwrites your .fds files with your save game (instead of keeping it in a seperate file like some other emus) -- or at least it does in the versions I've used.

You ever looked into NEStopia?
<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 04:00 AM   #9
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

> Famicom DISK System games come on a disk (or disk image, if
> using an emulator). The BIOS is the only ROM involved.

It's also commonly called a "rom". It doesn't have to be called an "image". Go to a "rom" site and you'll find "disk images". :P

<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 04:25 AM   #10
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: Can't play FDS games on FCE Ultra

> It's also commonly called a "rom". It doesn't have to be
> called an "image". Go to a "rom" site and you'll find "disk
> images". :P

I don't care much for the semantics either.

It's a double-standard with some people though. Like they'll say it's okay to call FDS games ROMs, but will freak out if you call PSX games ROMs.

Which is somewhat silly -- since a PSX game (CD-ROM image) is read-only, whereas an FDS disk image is writable... so PSX games are closer to being ROMs than an FDS game is.
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:51 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.