Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2009, 07:29 PM   #1
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,941
Default Diablo2 Expansion MOD

Ok now I loved all the Diablo series from the original right up to Diablo 2 expansion. Well last week I came across some mods for the expansion and I figured they'ld be like just tweeking certain areas but I'ld never heard "I was offline for years" of a mod for diablo 2 expansion that was almost an entirely new game. So that's what Median XL does for Diablo2 Expansion.

Median XL rocks and it's been kicking my ass and killing me over and over and I'm having fun playing D2 Expansion again.

All new skill, new unigues, new cube recipes and you have the cube when you start with a huge stash area too, new Uber quests, new almost everything everywhere.

Don't get me wrong this isn't just a drop mod. The monsters are all tough as hell and even though there is magic stuff everywhere you don't get crap for selling what you find so you gotta hustle to get ahead.


Right now I'm playing an Amazon, I have a bow, it shoots eternal arrows through multiple enemies and is devasting, I also have 3 fire elementals that follow me around like I was a necromancer . Oh yeah they made it that different and I love it.


All you have to do after downloading it is rename a file in your Diablo2 folder" just added backup to the name of the file" and copy the new .MPG in it's place and then just run the game as normal. That's it, no registry adds, no installer, no copying files from your Expansion CD.

"You need new install of Diablo2 Expansion versions 1.10 up to 1.12 for this mod and you can't use an old saved character or anything else since this is so different from the original game."


"also no regular battlenet though it says private multiplayer is an option just not on official servers"


Median XL Homepage
http://modsbylaz.planetdiablo.gamespy.com/

*If you just want to check out the screenshots to see if this game is different at all then click above link then on the menu on your left you'll see a link named MEDIA. You're then at page of thumbnail links to 60 different screenshots and I hope you enjoy this as much as I did when I first viewed them.


Try out this mod and then stop just long enough to to come back to this thread and let others know if you had fun and if it's worth the download.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 11:49 PM   #2
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,941
Default

Here are some shots I found using google image search of gameplay.







How about some massive summoning powers and I'm talking massive








So you want to do some leveling up, then check this out






In this image I thought this user was dead till I realized those ALL those arrows are pointed AWAY.






Hows this for a protective aura?






shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 01:47 AM   #3
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Almost off-topic, maybe you'd know the answer to this. I was thinking about installing Diablo on this new system of mine (haven't played it in a LONG time). Do you know if there is any way or a mod to force the game to display at a higher resolution? It would probably look better than scaling up the 640x480 or whatever the game uses by default.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 02:27 AM   #4
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,941
Default

Like Diablo expansion you can also play at 600x800 which I do. All the screenshots are also taken at that resolution if you notice. There are tons of other screen at that site I made a link to but they were dark and kind of blurred but the game looks way better during actual gameplay.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 03:49 AM   #5
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

So you can play Diablo 1 in higher resolutions? I don't remember there being an option.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 04:17 AM   #6
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The 9th Sage View Post
So you can play Diablo 1 in higher resolutions? I don't remember there being an option.
Not Diablo 1, Diablo 2 and the expansion have both resolutions. Diablo 1 though is 480x640 like you stated.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 02:15 PM   #7
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

..... >_<
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 08:16 PM   #8
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,941
Default

This game is so addictive. I died so many times last night and just kept going back for more. I'm already at level 15 and I'm not even putting a dent into the bigger creatures though I can mow down the regular ones without a thought.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The 9th Sage View Post
Almost off-topic, maybe you'd know the answer to this. I was thinking about installing Diablo on this new system of mine (haven't played it in a LONG time). Do you know if there is any way or a mod to force the game to display at a higher resolution? It would probably look better than scaling up the 640x480 or whatever the game uses by default.
I searched but couldn't find any mods/hacks for the original Diablo for higher than original resolution.

Sorry Ian about that other reply to this. I totally misread what you wrote.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:32 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.