Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2008, 07:56 PM   #1
oll-bogolo
Junior Member
 
oll-bogolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Default help me please

how do i sprite in my pokemon sapphire on my vba??please reply!!!!!!!
oll-bogolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 08:43 PM   #2
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

obey your thirst?

you aren't making much sense. Do you mean editing the sprites in the game? I think you need a special utility to decompress/recompress the graphics.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 01:32 AM   #3
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper man View Post
obey your thirst?

you aren't making much sense. Do you mean editing the sprites in the game? I think you need a special utility to decompress/recompress the graphics.
I'm positive there are tools to do this, but unfortunately I don't know what they are called. I do know that I've seen hacks with terribly 'shoe-horned' in graphics culled from photos, so there must be some easy way to do it. lol

The archive is a bit out of date, so if I were you I would check romhacking.net.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 12:38 PM   #4
AkaneJones
Senior Member
 
AkaneJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,668
Default

Man this is the kind of stuff the kills so many hacks. I personally had an idea to hack Pokémon once, but quicky discovered all the Pokémon/Trainer graphics were compressed except Mew and gave up.

Really, some one ought to make an update to a program like tile layer pro to include common graphic compression routines for NES/SNES/GB/ect., so you don't run in to this problem so much. The fact that you need to to find silly special programs that often get old for one off games gets old. Mario World had one which you had to use with Lunar Magic to do it's sprites. Infact it was supposed to do Zelda to but I never got it work that way. It ended up easier to just view the sprite table in Hyrule Magic after it was released. Point is there are common compression schemes but never do tile programs handle them.

Oh and yes it'd probably be inserted file libraries for specific game/companies. At leased that's the way programs like Susie work for viewing all those wonky graphics formats japanese pc games have.

Last edited by AkaneJones; 08-23-2008 at 12:45 PM.
AkaneJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 07:49 PM   #5
Iconoclast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 278
Default

For VBA there must be something. N64GFX 2.0 was released a few months ago, and that has some SNES support.

Yeah I noticed there was some kind of TMEM compression for most N64 games, or the tool only worked for Zelda Ocarina of Time. I dumped icon_index=1 to a new image file full of null bytes I created with LemAsm, got a hex editor and knew what to search for in the game image, and dumped the entire icon map. This works with even Super Mario 64 for neither high color nor true color (having noticed all 16 b/px bitmaps).
Iconoclast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 11:45 PM   #6
wajiguqu0223
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Default being beefed up

have no problem with 'boss' mobs being beefed up, and raid mobs being super beefed up, but when you segregate all of the EQ2 content into solo and group mobs then, really, much like instances, you are trying to get around the need for enough content. I think the key here is to build in a reasonable balance between grouping and soloing such that people will have a reason to group more than just the fact that the developer decided to give certain goblins three times more hit points and four times more strength

(USER WAS BANNED FOR THIS POST)

Last edited by Reaper man; 08-29-2008 at 02:25 AM.
wajiguqu0223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 12:04 AM   #7
Umiliphus
Senior Member
 
Umiliphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: A shoe
Posts: 192
Default

I once used a forum where people thought I was a robot. I like to think I did a better job impersonating a human than that, thought.
Umiliphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:06 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.