Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2005, 07:41 PM   #1
Richter X
Senior Member
 
Richter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hagan, Georgia, United States of America
Posts: 1,784
Default 60Hz MAME32?

Is there anything like TVMAME32, where all the games are set to run at 60Hz? TVMAME32 hasn't been updated in ages. It isn't even on this site.
__________________
Richter X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 09:14 PM   #2
MooglyGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 4,014
Default Re: 60Hz MAME32?

> Is there anything like TVMAME32, where all the games are set
> to run at 60Hz? TVMAME32 hasn't been updated in ages. It
> isn't even on this site.

Why would you want to force the games to run at 60Hz? I'll take a little bit of screen tearing during scrolling over:
- Potential game bugs by modifying the vertical refresh rate of the emulated machine
- Sound bugs including skipping and desyncing
MooglyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 01:10 AM   #3
SirDaShadow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: 60Hz MAME32?

>Why would you want to force the games to run at 60Hz?

Two words: Arcade Monitor. Try this: http://advancemame.sourceforge.net/
SirDaShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 03:27 AM   #4
MooglyGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 4,014
Default Re: 60Hz MAME32?

> >Why would you want to force the games to run at 60Hz?
>
> Two words: Arcade Monitor. Try this:
> http://advancemame.sourceforge.net/

Twenty-seven words: Get a decent multisync monitor from Wells Gardener, for instance the D9200, and buy an ArcadeVGA card to interface with it instead of jewing your arcade machine.
MooglyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 05:54 PM   #5
IndeX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 369
Default Re: 60Hz MAME32?

> Twenty-seven words: Get a decent multisync monitor from
> Wells Gardener, for instance the D9200, and buy an ArcadeVGA
> card to interface with it instead of jewing your arcade
> machine.

No words: $470
IndeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 06:57 PM   #6
SirDaShadow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: 60Hz MAME32?

>
> No words: $470
>
0 words: You will be speechless after I tell you another alternative...a 30" Sanyo HDTV monitor with HDMI input...$299 at Value City 2 weeks ago...and I didn't get it <img src=smilies/cry.gif>
SirDaShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 07:16 PM   #7
IndeX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 369
Default Re: 60Hz MAME32?

> 0 words: You will be speechless after I tell you another
> alternative...a 30" Sanyo HDTV monitor with HDMI
> input...$299 at Value City 2 weeks ago...and I didn't get it


...





YOU WERE RIGHT!
IndeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 07:23 PM   #8
Richter X
Senior Member
 
Richter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hagan, Georgia, United States of America
Posts: 1,784
Default Re: 60Hz MAME32?

I don't want to play arcade games on my TV, just on my PC monitor, but some games have slightly-off refresh rates that make the game skip when I play them.
__________________
Richter X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 11:06 PM   #9
SirDaShadow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: 60Hz MAME32?

> I don't want to play arcade games on my TV, just on my PC
> monitor, but some games have slightly-off refresh rates that
> make the game skip when I play them.
>
Lemme guess...Williams games?
SirDaShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 11:37 PM   #10
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: 60Hz MAME32?

> 0 words: You will be speechless after I tell you another
> alternative...a 30" Sanyo HDTV monitor with HDMI
> input...$299 at Value City 2 weeks ago...and I didn't get it

from my experiance, sanyo TVs are awful, or at least the one I have is. The screen regulation on it is awful (it's really noticeable, the picture warps almost a half inch sometimes). It might be diferent with HDTVs, but I wouldn't risk it. A friend of mine (who works in Audio/Video retail) says to usually fo for Toshiba, Samsung, or Sony when it comes to TVs.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:23 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.