Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Old 11-16-2011, 05:46 PM   #1
luluthepupu

Default ROM trouble on VBA

Final Fantasy Tactics Advance ROM Issues

So, I have recently come to love codebreaker codes, for the simple fact that I absolutely despise how long it takes to earn AP in this game. Five battles to master a skill? Really? No way. Not me.

Trying to figure codes out from scratch is like trying to peel my nails off one by one. I'm not very good at it, and it's not meant to be done (by me). But, VBA has a wonderful 'cheat search' feature, which I use on a regular basis and am somewhat comfortable with.

However, I should have known using Codebreaker codes would lead to trouble.

I used a few 'max stats' codes for a specific battle, and then decided that the game would be entirely boring with all of my characters so beefy. I deleted the cheat list.

Problem? Yes. Stats stayed the SAME. Thus, I had to reload my most recent save from BEFORE the cheat list ( before the battle), but for some reason my MP was still 999 across the board.

So what do I do, in my infinite laziness? Certainly not start a new game. Oh no. I went through VBA's 'reassign value' cheat search feature to find the MP of each and every clan member.

Problem again? Why not, it's a great day for it.

Silly me. I forgot to write down which specific values were reassigned to which address, which means of course I simply HAD to make a mistake, and now I cannot for the life of me fix it.