Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2009, 10:22 PM   #11
ffta707
Junior Member
 
ffta707's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Default

hey InVerse, or mega potion. when i use windhex. i load the rom ont it, but it comes up with unlegible words and symbols. the only two phrases are final fantasy tactics advanced on the top and bottem. is my rom different, or possebly a knock off. if so could i have a link. please help.
ffta707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 10:50 PM   #12
Maximum Potion
Staff (news - ROM hacking/translations)
 
Maximum Potion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Châteauguay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 625
Default

That's because the the phrase ''Final Fantasy Tactics Advance'' is stored in ASCII (the default table on your editor), and the text in the game are stored differently.

To find it, you're going to want to click search, and choose relative search from the drop down list. Search for a word that appears in the game, such as law, paladin, bangaa, etc.

What it does is it searches for a combination of hex values that COULD be the searched word.

If you double click on any of the search results, you can save the table file, and apply it to the rom in the editor. Try them until you can see more words, and you've got it.

But!! Be careful, there will be what appears to be random characters in between words.
These are punctuation, spaces, and commands that tells the text to jump a line or to wait for the player to press A.

You could either work around these, or learn what each one does.
Just remember to NEVER write anything past where the dialoue is supposed to end (there's sometimes a hex value to indicate that too).

If you want less text, you can just fill the last couple of words with spaces.
__________________
Metroid: Other M. June 27th, 2010.
Delayed - August 31st, 2010.
Maximum Potion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 01:30 AM   #13
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximum Potion View Post
You could either work around these, or learn what each one does.
This is very much the best thing to do assuming you've got the patience to experiment.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:55 PM   #14
ffta707
Junior Member
 
ffta707's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Default

thanx ill try it. also when i do TLP, do i need to like take a picure on my emulator, cause when i do anything the picture comes up in eds blues greens and tons of other colers that look nothing like the picture i took. could you mabe teach me how to use TLP.

and also do you think you could give me some words to search. cause i did law and it came up wit 99 searches, but i tried one and it had no text strings

Last edited by Reaper man; 05-11-2009 at 08:59 PM. Reason: needless double post
ffta707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 08:35 PM   #15
Maximum Potion
Staff (news - ROM hacking/translations)
 
Maximum Potion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Châteauguay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 625
Default

The way a tile editor works is that it opens the rom and displays the raw data in a way so that you can see and edit the graphics.

The graphics and their colours (known as palettes) are stored seperately, so the colours should be all messed up.

All you really have to do is open the rom and edit the graphics.



As for the words, the point is that you relative search words that you know are in the game, and build your table file off of that.
__________________
Metroid: Other M. June 27th, 2010.
Delayed - August 31st, 2010.
Maximum Potion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 01:32 AM   #16
ffta707
Junior Member
 
ffta707's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Default

ya but the graphics dont come up. do i have to load patteletes cus i load the rom and the colors are green and black and all messed up. and i type words in hex reletive search but it never finds them, the search always fails. the only two words that work are snow and law. but on the graphics editor do i neeed to edit every single frame of marche if i edit him.
ffta707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 02:43 AM   #17
Maximum Potion
Staff (news - ROM hacking/translations)
 
Maximum Potion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Châteauguay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 625
Default

You have to look for the graphics. They're all over the place. All cut up too. Use the tile arranger and edit them. Ignore the colours, it'll all work out.

I'll take a look at the text thing, i'm pretty sure it's all there...

BRB
__________________
Metroid: Other M. June 27th, 2010.
Delayed - August 31st, 2010.
Maximum Potion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 09:21 PM   #18
ffta707
Junior Member
 
ffta707's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Default

on the graphics though, does it accually show everything cause i want to make marche have red and black armor, if i do it for just one image, how would the sprite work for other things like attacking. i mean like waht graphics am i editing wen i load the rom. is it everything , it doesn;t really make sense what graphic s i am editing. it only loads the graphics on a short littlr page. if i wanted marches appearence wouldn;t i need to edit it in different ways like him attacking>? thanx for doing this by the way.
ffta707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 10:40 PM   #19
Maximum Potion
Staff (news - ROM hacking/translations)
 
Maximum Potion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Châteauguay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 625
Default

When you say ''on a short little page'', do you mean to say that you're not scrolling down?

K well obviously, I just opened the rom and obviosly you had to in order to see marche.
__________________
Metroid: Other M. June 27th, 2010.
Delayed - August 31st, 2010.
Maximum Potion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 10:49 PM   #20
ffta707
Junior Member
 
ffta707's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Default

wait did you find him?

how do you tell wich colors to change if they are multi color. cause it's not the real colors in the game.

mabe my rom isn't good, were did you get yours?
ffta707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:27 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.