Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2004, 01:26 PM   #1
anarchist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 173
Default Network card byte counter resets at 4GB

In WinXP Pro, is there anyway to make the byte counter for my NIC stop resetting at 4GB in or out?

<P ID="signature"></P>
anarchist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 02:00 AM   #2
SirDaShadow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: Network card byte counter resets at 4GB

> In WinXP Pro, is there anyway to make the byte counter for
> my NIC stop resetting at 4GB in or out?
>
Byte counter? I have a packet counter. Lots of bytes per packet, not sure how many. Prolly per ehternet frame MTU which is 1500 bytes in a LAN. So 1 packet= 1.5 KBytes. Not sure if this is "real" transfer or raw transfer. So assuming "real" transfer, your NIC card is reseting at 4GB X 1.5kBytes=4TB?

That's a shitload of data my friend...


<P ID="signature"></P>
SirDaShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 02:24 AM   #3
mFC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Network card byte counter resets at 4GB

xp gives you a byte or packet counter depending on what kind of connection you have. my shuttle has a packet counter, the laptop via wifi has a byte counter, obviously a computer directly connected to a cable modem has a byte counter, etc.

Chris

<P ID="signature"><center></center></P>
mFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 07:36 PM   #4
SirDaShadow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: Network card byte counter resets at 4GB

> xp gives you a byte or packet counter depending on what kind
> of connection you have. my shuttle has a packet counter,
> the laptop via wifi has a byte counter, obviously a computer
> directly connected to a cable modem has a byte counter, etc.
I dunno about wifi, haven't noticed if it's byte or packet (I do have a couple around the house with an AP). But what stumbles me is the cable modem...you mean if a cable modem is connected directly as in USB? Because if it's connected thru ethernet then it should be a packet counter right?



<P ID="signature"></P>
SirDaShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 10:03 PM   #5
anarchist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 173
Default Re: Network card byte counter resets at 4GB

I should have explained this more clearly. In mIRC, the information for my NIC resets at 4GB (im using the sysinfo addon). I'm sure this isn't a script problem but something to do with windows.

<P ID="signature"></P>
anarchist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 02:59 AM   #6
MegaManJuno
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: WV
Posts: 626
Default Re: Network card byte counter resets at 4GB

> I should have explained this more clearly. In mIRC, the
> information for my NIC resets at 4GB (im using the sysinfo
> addon). I'm sure this isn't a script problem but something
> to do with windows.
>

Well, if they are using a 32-bit unsigned integer to store the value of the counter, then I believe that 4GB would be the limit that it could store. ...I could be wrong, but that sounds like it could have something to do with it to me.

<P ID="signature"></P>
MegaManJuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 07:35 AM   #7
MasterHD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 323
Default Re: Network card byte counter resets at 4GB

> Well, if they are using a 32-bit unsigned integer to store
> the value of the counter, then I believe that 4GB would be
> the limit that it could store. ...I could be wrong, but
> that sounds like it could have something to do with it to
> me.

That's exactly the problem. I noticed this when I made a program for sharing files. The max number that a 32 bit integer can store is 2^32 = 4294967296. Which is the same as 4GB. To get around the problem i just used "double" variable type instead of "int".

<P ID="signature">___________________________________ _____________
It's complicated, we're blue, its blue... Tucker, you tell him why the flags so important.
Red v. Blue</P>
MasterHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:51 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.