Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2007, 09:39 PM   #1
mrfreeze
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,158
Default Installing a flip top ps2

I am trying to install a flip top lid on my ps2, but am having trouble with what is apparently the easiest part. I can't get the reset/eject switch to come out. It says in all the guides I found "Just take it out" but I can't get it to pop off or anything, and don't want to force it too much and break it. Anyone have any advice on how exactly it is supposed to come off?
<P ID="signature"></P>
mrfreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 10:03 PM   #2
mrfreeze
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,158
Default Re: Installing a flip top ps2


>
Never mind got it. Heres hoping the ribbon didn't get fucked up while I was messing with it.
<P ID="signature"></P>
mrfreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 03:18 AM   #3
maq112k2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,971
Default Re: Installing a flip top ps2

> Never mind got it. Heres hoping the ribbon didn't get fucked
> up while I was messing with it.
Watch out when reinserting the reset button upon reassembly. Mine didn't fit when I installed my flip-top, the reset/eject assembly was being pushed up and required a bit of dremelling to refit it.
<P ID="signature"></P>
maq112k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 08:39 PM   #4
mrfreeze
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,158
Default Re: Installing a flip top ps2

Ok I got it all put together and back together, but now I have a problem. Discs sit weird now, as in right on top of the laser so they don't lock into place like they do on the PS1, and now it won't recognize that there is a disk in the slot. The laser moves around, but nothing happens. Plus I found out that the version of ps2 I have only reads DVD-R and I only have a +R burner, but thats a hassle for another time.
<P ID="signature"></P>
mrfreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 08:48 PM   #5
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,787
Default Re: Installing a flip top ps2

> I am trying to install a flip top lid on my ps2

Ok, so I live in a cave. Why do you want to do that ?

<P ID="signature">
</P>
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 09:03 PM   #6
Diskeater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,460
Default Re: Installing a flip top ps2

> Ok, so I live in a cave. Why do you want to do that ?

I assume it has something to do with running "backups" and/or imports. My future bro-in-law has one installed on a PS2 for that reason.

<P ID="signature">http://www.badjawa.com</a></img>

Wii console code - 7551377053011860</P>
Diskeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 11:20 PM   #7
puzzl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Installing a flip top ps2

> I assume it has something to do with running "backups"
> and/or imports. My future bro-in-law has one installed on a
> PS2 for that reason.


If that were the case, why not just put a hard drive in the thing? I helped a friend do so just for that use, and it was ridiculously easy, i think.

<P ID="signature"><center>
http://spazpants.comAAAAAAAAAAAAA!</a></center></P>
puzzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 01:07 AM   #8
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,787
Default Re: Installing a flip top ps2

It depends on what he meant by "backups"
<P ID="signature">
</P>
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:05 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.