Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2015, 10:30 PM   #1
pooiyx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Default SPC - can I disable stereo?

Hi. I have a question regarding the .SPC file format (for SNES chiptunes).

I recently got a new motherboard (with a new onboard sound card), and I realise that it plays back SPC files differently. (I'm still using the same headphones and still using winamp to play chiptunes.)

For example, when I listen to the Fortress track (16a Fortress.spc) from Super Mario World 1 (http://www.zophar.net/music/spc/super-mario-world-[super-mario-world-super-mario-bros-4].html), there's a track which keeps playing in the left ear only, and I find it very irritating.
One good thing is that for the intro to this track, I get the "left to right ear effect" (which is something I never knew existed because I was using a lousier onboard sound card previously). But I rather lose this and not have a background track constantly play in only 1 ear.

Is there a way (to configure the SPC plugin) to just play all tracks in both ears equally?

Thanks.
pooiyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 11:38 PM   #2
Montie2k
SuperMod and Music Guru
 
Montie2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: suburbs of Providence, RI
Posts: 265
Default

Which plugin?
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, maybe you shouldn't take up skydiving.
Montie2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 11:44 PM   #3
pooiyx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Default

Alpha-II SPC Player v3.3.4 (x86) in_snes.dll

I've forgotten where I downloaded it from already, it has been many years since I last searched for this plugin because I keep backing up and re-using my old files even when I get a new computer.
pooiyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 11:07 AM   #4
Montie2k
SuperMod and Music Guru
 
Montie2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: suburbs of Providence, RI
Posts: 265
Default

We have it catalogued as SNESamp.

In Winamp, go to Options > Preferences > Plugins > Input > Alpha-II SPC Player v3.3.4 (x86) in_snes.dll > Configure > DSP, change the DSP Emulation to Custom, and change the channels to Monaural.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, maybe you shouldn't take up skydiving.
Montie2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 02:20 PM   #5
pooiyx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Default

After changing to Monaural, winamp crashes the moment I play the file, and attempts to send an error report (although I can't because it says I have no email program).

I'm using Winamp 5.64 (the latest version I think).
And wow the latest version of the SNESamp plugin is 7 years old.
pooiyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 04:55 PM   #6
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

The latest version of WinAmp is 5.66. Sending an error report would be useless, though, because WinAmp has been discontinued and is no longer under development.
__________________
I used to be a ROM hacker like you. Then I took an arrow to the feels.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 05:12 PM   #7
pooiyx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Default

I just checked the name of the installer file I downloaded 2 days ago, and it is indeed for 5.66 (winamp5666_full_en-us_redux.exe). The winamp program itself displays 5.64 (likely a typo) when I click on "Nullsoft Winamp" in the main menu.

I heard about winamp not being updated for a long time, but their website seems to indicate that that may be changing "soon" ([url]http://www.winamp.com/[/url]).
pooiyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 08:08 PM   #8
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

Hrm. Apparently a company bought WinAmp in January of 2014. According to archive.org, the current "There's more coming soon" page has been there for almost a year and a half now, though. Looks like the forum is still active, at least. As is Shoutcast, when I didn't realize. Guess that answers the question of what to use for the radio program I was thinking of broadcasting soon.
__________________
I used to be a ROM hacker like you. Then I took an arrow to the feels.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.