Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Website Talk > Site Questions / Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2008, 09:53 PM   #21
Xeon3D
Senior Member
 
Xeon3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albufeira, PT
Posts: 261
Default

Before I saw ZD as normal. With no Ads (they must have been put in recently). Now that there's an Ad showing the Logo looks out of place (This is in Firefox 3/OS X and Safari 3/OS X).

Since I use adblock plus on Firefox I dont' really see the add but the space is still there.

My question is, isn't there enough space on the left or the right column to make a vertical ad placeholder instead of one next to the logo? It makes me think I'm in a dodgy site.


Example in Firefox (with Adblock Plus)


Example in Safari

Also, since this question is more directed at Edman, let me just add that you can fix this (if indeed it's fixable) when you want. No hurries (please do take sometime before fixing this or else he'll come after me... again... ) haha

But I still would like to hear reports if other people (using other browsers or not and also using adblock or not) have the same issue...
Xeon3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 02:42 AM   #22
lexmetroid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Yup, pretty much the same for me. I use Firefox 3.0.1 with Adblock Plus on Windows XP.

Here's how it looks on my monitor:
http://s4.tinypic.com/1zbh17k.jpg
lexmetroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 01:44 PM   #23
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeon3D View Post
Example in Firefox (with Adblock Plus)
I seriously don't remember the last time I saw an ad.
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 08:19 PM   #24
Gil-Galad
Senior Member
 
Gil-Galad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 658
Default Issue #2

Here is ZD's front page in IE 6 with no ad blocker.

http://gilgalad.arc-nova.org/junk/zophar_frontpage1.png
Gil-Galad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 03:52 AM   #25
Xeon3D
Senior Member
 
Xeon3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albufeira, PT
Posts: 261
Default

Gil-Galad, you should really drop those toolbars. Are they any useful to you?
Xeon3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 11:08 AM   #26
Edman
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 739
Default

I... wasn't sure that was such an issue. The problem is that the logo image is really a background, and it just moves using the background-position CSS attribute. I guess I could move it.

And the ads are going to be removed for registered users, you're just going to have to be patient for a while.

Either way, I am going to be changing the ads, as the performance is piss poor.

Quote:
Here is ZD's front page in IE 6 with no ad blocker.

http://gilgalad.arc-nova.org/junk/zophar_frontpage1.png
You need to press Ctrl+F5 to do a hard refresh. The page looks perfectly fine in my IE6.
Edman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.