Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 08:26 PM   #1
Diskeater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,460
Default Cannot open Power Management

This is an issue with someone at work and I'm hoping you guys can help me resolve it.

Basically, she can never bring her monitor back from an idle state unless she restarts the computer. I asked her to check the Power Management settings and she ran into this error:

' An exception occurred while trying to run "c:\windows\system32\shell32.dll,control_rundl l powercfg.cpl,," '

I've run into this issue before and I could've sworn there was a simple command or two you could enter to make that problem go away. I found the solution by checking our local knowledge base which no longer exists. Google has turned up nothing useful.

Some stuff I've tried in the past that has not worked:

- Extracting another copy of the powercfg.cpl file
- The SFC /scannow command
- I believe I tried to reregister shell32.dll and that did not work but I could be wrong.

I'll have the system in hand tomorrow morning. Any ideas?
Diskeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 08:40 PM   #2
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,789
Default

Well, you can try that.
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:24 PM   #3
Diskeater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,460
Default

That would be extracting another copy of the powercfg.cpl file and that doesn't work.
Diskeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:43 PM   #4
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

if all else fails, back up, wipe drive, reinstall
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 01:09 AM   #5
Diskeater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,460
Default

That's always an option but I want to avoid doing that at all costs.
Diskeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 02:02 AM   #6
Ugly Joe
Senior Member
 
Ugly Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,461
Default

Try this from the Run box:
Code:
powercfg /RestoreDefaultPolicies
__________________

Last edited by Ugly Joe; 08-06-2008 at 02:04 AM.
Ugly Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 02:08 AM   #7
Diskeater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ugly Joe View Post
Try this from the Run box:
Code:
powercfg /RestoreDefaultPolicies
Yeah that rings a bell...I'll try it tomorrow when I have the computer in hand. Thanks!
Diskeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:09 AM   #8
holken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Default Worked for me!

I had the exact problem on my brand new ThinkPad T61(!), and the above command solved the issue. Thanks a bunch!
holken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.