Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2004, 02:03 AM   #1
Rhetro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default How does one use ISOs?

Hello Everyone!

Just wondering what you do with ISOs once you have them.

Thanks in advance!

Take care!

<P ID="signature"></P>
Rhetro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:13 AM   #2
icenine0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,958
Default Re: How does one use ISOs?

Hmm... well, it really depends on the type of ISO. If it's *GASP* a PSX ROM!!!@#!@# */GASP* then a good emulator like http://www.epsxe.comePSXe</A> will support it natively. If it's anything else, you'll probably want to mount it with a virtual drive utility, like http://www.daemon-tools.cc/Daemon Tools</A>.

<P ID="signature">The more often you fail, the sweeter the taste of success!</P>
icenine0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:19 AM   #3
Rhetro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: How does one use ISOs?

> Hmm... well, it really depends on the type of ISO. If it's
> *GASP* a PSX ROM!!!@#!@# */GASP* then a good emulator like
> ePSXe will support it natively. If it's anything else,
> you'll probably want to mount it with a virtual drive
> utility, like Daemon Tools.
>


<P ID="signature"></P>
Rhetro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:24 AM   #4
Rhetro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: How does one use ISOs?

Thanks Icenine0 !

Well, I have PC Eninge Iso and Amiga Isos.I don't know if that qualifies as GASP/PSX since I don't know what that is. Will ePSXe handle both?

From what I have learned so far, an ISO is something like a zip file, but a little more complex Therefore you just need an emulator that can read/see it?. Sorry, I wish I was smarter!

Thanks Icenine0!

Hmm... well, it really depends on the type of ISO. If it's
> *GASP* a PSX ROM!!!@#!@# */GASP* then a good emulator like
> ePSXe will support it natively. If it's anything else,
> you'll probably want to mount it with a virtual drive
> utility, like Daemon Tools.
>
<img src=smilies/cry.gif><img src=smilies/cry.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>
Rhetro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:27 AM   #5
AuroEdge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 270
Default Re: How does one use ISOs?

Just make sure that they're ISOs you made with your own BlackDisc and not downloaded .

<P ID="signature"><img src=http://home.insightbb.com/~auroedge/SignatureAuroEdge2.jpg></P>
AuroEdge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:29 AM   #6
ShadowMage
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 263
Default Re: How does one use ISOs?

An ISO is an image file of a CD. In emulation they're kind of like ROMs, only of CD games instead of cartridge ones. For example, if you had an ISO of an Playstation game, then you could use ePSXe to play that same as you would ZSNES for any SNES ROM.

<P ID="signature">End Transmission</P>
ShadowMage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:51 AM   #7
Rhetro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: How does one use ISOs?

Ok so all I need is ePSXe which serves as the engine, that runs these Isos (roms as per the example)?

I heard something that I need to render these to disc, but if I have them imaged onto the hardrive, I can just run them as if I were running an emulator running roms, right?

I think I'm getting warmer (thanks to you guys no doubt!)



> Just make sure that they're ISOs you made with your own
> BlackDisc and not downloaded .
>


<P ID="signature"></P>
Rhetro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 03:00 AM   #8
ShadowMage
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 263
Default Re: How does one use ISOs?

> Ok so all I need is ePSXe which serves as the engine, that
> runs these Isos (roms as per the example)?

If they're ISOs from Playstation games then yes, but if they're from other games then you'll need a different emulater.

<P ID="signature">End Transmission</P>
ShadowMage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 03:17 AM   #9
Rhetro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: How does one use ISOs?

Thanks Gentlemen! I think I'm almost there.

I just figured out what the acronym for EPSXe is. So....

What will play PC and amiga ISOs?

This may very well be my last question !

You've all been most kind and helpful!

>

<P ID="signature"></P>
Rhetro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 04:50 AM   #10
Alevice
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 94
Default Re: How does one use ISOs?

> What will play PC and amiga ISOs?

Not sure, but you are better either bruning them to a CD, or moutning them as a virtual drive with Dameon Tools (as icenine0 stated)

<P ID="signature">_-|-_</P>
Alevice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.