Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2010, 02:25 AM   #1
Red-XIII
Senior Member
 
Red-XIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Turnersville, NJ
Posts: 120
Default Goodbye AMD!

After build after build of custom PC's since 1999 I've finally crossed over from AMD to Intel. Just put it together today. Biostar G41-M7 mobo paired with a Core 2 Duo E7500 and a Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro. I'm currently OCed to 3.5Ghz with temps around 60c during torture tests and 38c idle. Also picked up a EVGA GeForce GTS 250 and finally I can run PCSX2 without wanting to rip my hair out.

This thing is pretty awesome.
Red-XIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 02:57 AM   #2
D--
Senior Member
 
D--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chaoyang, Beijing, China
Posts: 826
Default

Loongson here.



Yay for 64-bit MIPSIII-compatibles.

4-way superscalar, out-of-order execution
Little-endian MIPS III-compatible ISA
2 ALUs, 2 FPUs, and 1 AGU
Dedicated SIMD integrated in one FPU
128KB total L1
512KB 4-way L2
TPD of 4W at max clockspeed

Sure it sounds like ass, but the Loongson 3A will rock as soon as there is a motherboard for it. Adds support for 200 Intel instructions. Shrinks to 65nm. Increases the core count to four.

And everything is open source down to the BIOS. It's a hacker's dream machine.
__________________
portfolio :: deviantArt :: 微博 :: Twitter

Last edited by D--; 04-29-2010 at 03:10 AM.
D-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:01 AM   #3
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red-XIII View Post
After build after build of custom PCs since 1999 I've finally crossed over from AMD to Intel. Just put it together today.
Awesome, what took you so long?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red-XIII View Post
Biostar
.....

GTFO
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:24 AM   #4
Red-XIII
Senior Member
 
Red-XIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Turnersville, NJ
Posts: 120
Default

I mean ASUS!

Unfortunately not really, but hey I could have bought something overly shitty like a Zotac or Jetway board.
Red-XIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:52 AM   #5
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,407
Default

...enjoy your capacitor plague.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 01:28 AM   #6
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red-XIII View Post
I mean ASUS!

Unfortunately not really, but hey I could have bought something overly shitty like a Zotac or Jetway board.
If you build another system sometime, years down the line, you should think about Asus. The board I have here has been pretty solid.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 02:31 AM   #7
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The 9th Sage View Post
If you build another system sometime, years down the line, you should think about Asus. The board I have here has been pretty solid.
Asus is a great brand from every review I've read and every person that I've known has had no complaints.

My last board was a gigabyte and ran great for almost a decade till I upgraded. Hell I accidentally dropped a screw onto the motherboard while my computer was running. It just rebooted and I pulled the plug, removed the loose screw and when I restarted I found no problems what so ever. A solid board and it wasn't even top of the line when I bought it, just high quality.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 08:23 PM   #8
D--
Senior Member
 
D--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chaoyang, Beijing, China
Posts: 826
Default

Just to weigh in, I too had a Gigabyte motherboard for an old Celeron. It worked fabulously for 10 years and happily took any RAM I threw at it.

This is in contrast to the hot, power-sucking board I had from Shuttle for my AMD Athlon. It actually blew apart 13 sticks of good RAM in the CompUSA repair room as they struggled to find a way to make it not explode.

Why would I ever take a computer to CompUSA for repairs? Because it was cheaper to let them break 19 sticks of RAM and bill me for the two that worked than it was to buy 21 sticks of RAM myself—assuming I ever stumbled on the lucky pair.
__________________
portfolio :: deviantArt :: 微博 :: Twitter
D-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 09:37 PM   #9
shawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,939
Default

You owned a Shuttle? My condolences to you. I know you'll never make that mistake again.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 03:49 AM   #10
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-- View Post
Just to weigh in, I too had a Gigabyte motherboard for an old Celeron. It worked fabulously for 10 years and happily took any RAM I threw at it.

This is in contrast to the hot, power-sucking board I had from Shuttle for my AMD Athlon. It actually blew apart 13 sticks of good RAM in the CompUSA repair room as they struggled to find a way to make it not explode.

Why would I ever take a computer to CompUSA for repairs? Because it was cheaper to let them break 19 sticks of RAM and bill me for the two that worked than it was to buy 21 sticks of RAM myself—assuming I ever stumbled on the lucky pair.
Whoa...what the hell? It was blowing the RAM apart? So were they literally exploding in some fashion?
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:07 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.