Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2007, 12:47 AM   #1
Insomnia DMX
Senior Member
 
Insomnia DMX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 264
Default Using TV as monitor for comp.

I'd like to have just one monitor in my room, for a PS2, a PC and a few other things. I found a big, cheap CRT TV that has component video input and composite input. My PC only outputs VGA as far as video goes. I have a hunch that VGA is the same thing as component video with different connectors. I can easily solve the connector problem; I just don't know if it'll work properly.

This pic gets my hopes up:


I know that I'd need to have my refresh rate at 60Hz (I live in America, thus work with the NTSC standard.) and I don't really care about resolution, as long as it works.

So I ask you guys...
<P ID="signature">http://users.adelphia.net/~InsomniaDMX/My crappy little site.</a></P>
Insomnia DMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 02:44 AM   #2
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default Re: Using TV as monitor for comp.

I've used a CRT TV and an LCD TV as a computer monitor (both connected via S-Video) and I'd definately say that the LCD is the better choice. But if money is an issue grab a CRT TV that is brand name and fairly new (within the last 3~4 years).
<P ID="signature">
</P>
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 03:53 AM   #3
Richter X
Senior Member
 
Richter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hagan, Georgia, United States of America
Posts: 1,784
Default Re: Using TV as monitor for comp.

VGA and component are a little different. You'll need a VGA-to-Component Transcoder in order to do what you're talking about. They usually cost around $100.
<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Richter X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 05:46 AM   #4
puduhead
Senior Member
 
puduhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 5,403
Default Re: Using TV as monitor for comp.

> This pic gets my hopes up:

out of curiousity, what video card are you running?

because if it is nothing special, you could get a video card (used even) with multiple video outputs for around the cost of that cable you posted.
<P ID="signature">___________________________________ ________
http://www.myspace.com/directionlessmusic</a></P>
__________________
puduhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 07:55 PM   #5
Sliver X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 160
Default Re: Using TV as monitor for comp.

I hope you don't plan on doing anything aside from gaming on that thing (And if so, you're playing crap with BIG fonts), because TVs suck, SUCK compared to a PC monitor in regards to picture quality.

Even 640x480 is a nightmare to deal with if Windows is using the standard font size, and even if you jack that up you end up killing precious screen real estate for it.

However, for emulation, nothing beats a TV.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Sliver X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 12:39 AM   #6
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default Re: Using TV as monitor for comp.

> I hope you don't plan on doing anything aside from gaming on
> that thing (And if so, you're playing crap with BIG fonts),
> because TVs suck, SUCK compared to a PC monitor in regards
> to picture quality.

LCD TV's don't suck--even with using S-Video. And some analog TV's aren't so bad with 800x600 res, just be prepared to use large fonts. <img src=smilies/puke.gif>
<P ID="signature">
</P>
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 01:09 AM   #7
SamIAm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 487
Default Re: Using TV as monitor for comp.

> LCD TV's don't suck--even with using S-Video. And some
> analog TV's aren't so bad with 800x600 res, just be prepared
> to use large fonts.
>

I use my laptop with S-video-out for gaming on my CRT TV all the time, and even when I'm not gaming, I also find 800x600 to be fairy manageable for most tasks. S-video has a maximum bandwidth of 480i, though, so if that's what you want to use all the time, you pretty much need to be in 640x480 or you'll lose too much detail for some things.

For full usage in higher resoutions, you NEED a TV capable of at least 720i/p, and either a component transcoder or native VGA inputs on the TV. My CRT was advertised as supporting up to 700 lines of horizontal resolution, but I would still recommend getting a true HD display.
<P ID="signature"></P>
SamIAm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 04:17 PM   #8
Insomnia DMX
Senior Member
 
Insomnia DMX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 264
Default Re: Using TV as monitor for comp.

Oh, I know. I only want to use the thing to play games anyway. More than half of that gaming will be emulation. This thing won't even be connected to the internet.
<P ID="signature">http://users.adelphia.net/~InsomniaDMX/My crappy little site.</a></P>
Insomnia DMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 04:25 PM   #9
Insomnia DMX
Senior Member
 
Insomnia DMX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 264
Default Re: Using TV as monitor for comp.

> out of curiousity, what video card are you running?

Something built in. I don't have a PCI or otherwise video card.

> because if it is nothing special, you could get a video card
> (used even) with multiple video outputs for around the cost
> of that cable you posted.

I'm pretty sure I can build a cable like that, which is why I wanted to go that route.

But... a friend of mine said, "I'm pretty sure that VGA is progressive scan and standard TV is interlaced." I think I may just shell out some money for the video card.
<P ID="signature">http://users.adelphia.net/~InsomniaDMX/My crappy little site.</a></P>
Insomnia DMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:58 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.