Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2007, 06:17 AM   #1
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,787
Default Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

So, with which Playstation emulator is the best for playing this game ?
<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 06:21 AM   #2
Sliver X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 160
Default Re: Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

pSX and ePSXe both run it fine.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Sliver X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 08:51 AM   #3
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,408
Default Re: Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

> pSX

almost... If I recall correctly, sometimes the emu will just hang trying to load data, and I believe it gets all choppy when you game over

<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 01:35 PM   #4
SamIAm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 487
Default Re: Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

> > pSX
>
> almost... If I recall correctly, sometimes the emu will just
> hang trying to load data, and I believe it gets all choppy
> when you game over

This is true. However, you can get around it by ejecting and reloading the CD (even if it is an image). Still a pain, though.
<P ID="signature"></P>
SamIAm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 02:18 PM   #5
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

> This is true. However, you can get around it by ejecting and
> reloading the CD (even if it is an image). Still a pain,
> though.

Huh, why does this happen? I don't think I've had it happen to me. What CD-ROM plug-in are you guys using?
<P ID="signature">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjXHfVou58A
Click the Link (picture) to go make fun of my brother!</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 07:22 PM   #6
Sliver X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 160
Default Re: Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

You may want to check your copy of the game, because mine doesn't do this whatsoever (The ISO I have was dumped by myself years ago).
<P ID="signature"></P>
Sliver X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 01:18 AM   #7
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

> You may want to check your copy of the game, because mine
> doesn't do this whatsoever (The ISO I have was dumped by
> myself years ago).

Same here for me, actually. Bad image of the disk floating around?
<P ID="signature">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjXHfVou58A
Click the Link (picture) to go make fun of my brother!</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 01:36 AM   #8
SamIAm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 487
Default Re: Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

> Huh, why does this happen? I don't think I've had it happen
> to me. What CD-ROM plug-in are you guys using?
>

I was just using daemon tools. It could be a bad image, but I believe someone on the pSX bug reporting forums had the same problem, and he said he was using a genuine disc. This was on pSX 1.10, btw.
<P ID="signature"></P>
SamIAm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 02:39 AM   #9
Sliver X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 160
Default Re: Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

Huh, I hadn't realized it'd been updated twice: I'm using 1.9, and it runs just dandy.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Sliver X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 02:51 AM   #10
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,408
Default Re: Castlevania - Symphony of the Night

> Huh, why does this happen? I don't think I've had it happen
> to me. What CD-ROM plug-in are you guys using?

uhm, pSX isn't plugin based, that's what makes it awesome. you don't have to fuck around with various plugins to get x game to work.

<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:27 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.