Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 06:58 PM   #1
`Zameron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Question ROMs will not load

When I try and open up a ROM, it says loaded battery and goes white or black, and nothing happens. (I have tried to open Pokemon Emerald, and Pokemon Ruby; they both do the same thing)
`Zameron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:14 PM   #2
kone191
Senior Member
 
kone191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 107
Default

Which emulator are you using ?
You maybe need to install some bios to run other emulators than VBA. But VBA usually says that "Loaded battery" and the rom should run properly.
kone191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 08:37 PM   #3
`Zameron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

i'm using VisualBoyAdvance Version 1.8.0.603 ... I think

oh, and how do you install bios?

Last edited by `Zameron; 11-09-2008 at 11:16 PM.
`Zameron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:15 AM   #4
kone191
Senior Member
 
kone191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 107
Default

In some emulators you have to install bios files to run roms but not in VisualBoyAdvance. Sorry, I can't say what's your problem then.

But check link "Options" above if you something doesn't work there.
kone191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:11 PM   #5
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by `Zameron View Post
i'm using VisualBoyAdvance Version 1.8.0.603 ... I think

oh, and how do you install bios?
just google gba bios and find the file. Then in VBA, it should be under options --> emulation
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 06:02 PM   #6
kone191
Senior Member
 
kone191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper man View Post
just google gba bios and find the file. Then in VBA, it should be under options --> emulation
There is no bios files for VBA.
kone191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 02:46 AM   #7
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kone191 View Post
There is no bios files for VBA.
No, but there are BIOS files for the Game Boy Advance, and VisualBoyAdvance is a GB/GBC/GBA emulator. It can work without a BIOS file, but some GBA games won't work as well or at all. I believe the GB/GBC does not have a BIOS, and is thus not affected by this.
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:42 AM   #8
kone191
Senior Member
 
kone191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 107
Default

I have pokemon ruby and emerald myself and they work properly in my VBA.
kone191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 01:27 AM   #9
Rattlehead
Senior Member
 
Rattlehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hell...or Arkansas.
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kone191 View Post
I have pokemon ruby and emerald myself and they work properly in my VBA.
Alright, that's good for you. You're not listening to what Lillymon is saying, though.

Some GBA games have lockout protection on them, or something to that effect. If the lockout has to go through the Game Boy Advance's (the actual GBA, not an emulator) BIOS, there's no one to go through. The lockout will prevent the game from loading, and you're shit outta luck...unless you obtain a GBA BIOS file.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but that's the rough idea of a GBA BIOS file.
__________________
Killing is my business...and business is good!


Click here to level up my card!

Rattlehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 10:04 AM   #10
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rattlehead View Post
Alright, that's good for you. You're not listening to what Lillymon is saying, though.

Some GBA games have lockout protection on them, or something to that effect. If the lockout has to go through the Game Boy Advance's (the actual GBA, not an emulator) BIOS, there's no one to go through. The lockout will prevent the game from loading, and you're shit outta luck...unless you obtain a GBA BIOS file.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but that's the rough idea of a GBA BIOS file.
I was more under the impression that the GBA BIOS is relatively easy to HLE, so most emulators include a simulated BIOS, but it's not perfect and so doesn't work in 100% of circumstances. The simulation has got better and better as time has gone on though, so something like 99.9% of games work without an actual BIOS now.

There was most likely a copy protection element to it though, as most games would use the BIOS in very trivial ways and thus be easy to simulate. Later games would make more inventive use of the BIOS though, requiring a more thorough simulation.

I must admit to not knowing the full story behind all this either, but that's the impression I got. Since the GBA has finally been officially abandoned by Nintendo in favour of the DS, new games are going to be few and far between, and so there are likely be no new surprises with the BIOS.
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:35 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.