Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2008, 05:30 AM   #1
evilkinevils
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Question psx emulator trouble

hey im trying to run a play station 2 game on my psx emulator. i have a dvd drive (kinda obvious), and i have the scph70021 bios. the error that comes up says "CD not usable: unable to read CD with any driver"

can anyone help me with this
evilkinevils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 06:59 AM   #2
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

waaait, WHAAAT?!

you're saying that you are trying to run a PS2 game on a fucking PSX emulator?!

HAHAHAHAHA

sorry, just wow. To see just how stupid that is, find a standard playstation, and try to load a PS2 game in there and see how far you get.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:50 AM   #3
Umiliphus
Senior Member
 
Umiliphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: A shoe
Posts: 192
Default

That's possibly ignorance more than stupidity. After all, "x" is generally seen as a variable when used in a place where one expects a number. I was initially confused when I encountered the abbreviation "psx" on this internet, and I still don't understand it.
Umiliphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 08:31 AM   #4
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

huh, valid point, but I believe it's a rather well known fact that PSX is referring to the fist playstation
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 10:31 AM   #5
evilkinevils
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default

see i didnt know that because the psx configuration has an option for a playstation 2 bios.

also im told by many people that psx or epsx is best for running ps2 games

okay then what would you recommend for running play station two games

Last edited by evilkinevils; 09-18-2008 at 10:58 AM.
evilkinevils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 02:24 PM   #6
ToastyCheesy
Senior Member
 
ToastyCheesy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Posts: 234
Default

PCSX2

it can be found in the emulator section
ToastyCheesy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 03:02 PM   #7
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

pSX and ePSXe can't run PS2 games. O_o
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 03:09 PM   #8
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilkinevils View Post
see i didnt know that because the psx configuration has an option for a playstation 2 bios.

also im told by many people that psx or epsx is best for running ps2 games

okay then what would you recommend for running play station two games
huh, ok, you aren't as stupid as I thought, so forgive my jackassery.

here's the lowdown on pSX. yes there is support for PS2 emulation, BUT it is in it's very early stages. From what I recall, it only runs one game, and not very well. from what I've heard, PSXAuthor has been working on the PS2 side of pSX so I'm betting by next release there will be a noticable improvement in PS2 emulation. Just keep checking here (main page) for updates.

and as said previously, PCSX2 is going to be your best bet for PS2 emulation, but you are going to need something rather beefy in order to get any decent results.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 09:30 PM   #9
evilkinevils
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default

yea i think thats a problem for me cause i got the pcsx2 emulator and i got the scph32001 bios and all that but when i try to run the game it crashes on me so i think i need a better computer
evilkinevils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 11:56 PM   #10
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

t'would be a good idea to post your specs then and what settings you are using
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.