Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2005, 04:11 AM   #11
MegaManJuno
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: WV
Posts: 626
Default Re: suikoden2 studdering

90?? How the hell did they come up with that when a NTSC television is 59.9?
<img src=smilies/erm.gif>

Is it just that game they're recommending that value for, or all of them, because I know 60 is more or less (barring plugin/emulation bugs) perfect for other games I've played...

EDIT:
OK, just for the sake of it, I tried it at 90, and while the FMV runs without stuttering, much as I expected, it's too fast. Not to mention the sound playback speeds up and slows down sproadically while trying to stay in synch. Someone over there is full of it.<P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by MegaManJuno on 03/09/05 11:15 PM.</FONT></P>
MegaManJuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 04:16 AM   #12
sephiroth111
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 756
Default Re: suikoden2 studdering

> Is it just that game they're recommending that value for, or
> all of them, because I know 60 is more or less (barring
> plugin/emulation bugs) perfect for other games I've
> played...

it seems that its only suiko2, but thats the native fps it plays at... just try it out, trust me, it works for some reason

edit: kinda wierd, but the video wasn't the problem to begin with, but at least i dont have the chopping that it had before. kinda hard on the ears no?

<P ID="signature"><hr>
Ludvuck Foruk: Thats your first problem...thinking your a panda...
sephiroth111: and once again, i am totally confused as to whats going on.</P><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by sephiroth111 on 03/09/05 11:23 PM.</FONT></P>
sephiroth111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 04:56 AM   #13
MegaManJuno
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: WV
Posts: 626
Default Re: suikoden2 studdering

I went searching around over there and I think I found the post you were referring to on the ePSXe formus... I have no clue how he came up with the idea that the opening video runs at 90fps, or how none of the "experts" over there caught that and called him on it.

Despite the fact that a NTSC cannot do 90fps, the video itself runs at only 15fps (fairly standard among PS1 movies). You can load it up into PSMPlay and see right there that it's 15fps and that it plays fine.

Otherwise, I see they didn't ever come to a resolution to the problem in that thread over there either.

<P ID="signature"></P>
MegaManJuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 05:42 AM   #14
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: suikoden2 studdering

erm, have you ever considered using a different emulater like PCSX? Just a thought.. it could just be ePSXe

<P ID="signature"><center>
sig not found...</center></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2005, 03:52 AM   #15
MegaManJuno
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: WV
Posts: 626
Default Re: suikoden2 studdering

> erm, have you ever considered using a different emulater
> like PCSX? Just a thought..

Hey, it's not me trying to play it... I just thought since I own the game and have some experience with ePSXe that I'd try to give a hand.

> it could just be ePSXe

So far, that's pretty much my thoughts as well based on what little I messed with it and various plugins/settings.

<P ID="signature"></P>
MegaManJuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2005, 05:26 AM   #16
sephiroth111
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 756
Default Re: suikoden2 studdering

> erm, have you ever considered using a different emulater
> like PCSX? Just a thought.. it could just be ePSXe
>
seems to be the problem, but i dont feel like converting all my memory cards to any other format, not cause its hard, but because i am *seriously* lazy. plus reconfiguring another emulator just to play 1 game would be kinda stupid, cause i play all my ps1 games on it instead of my ps2 (this saves my ps2 a bit, and also lets me use the dexdrive saves i had stored on my comp from before it went toast)

i can deal with the minor bugs i found, and the sound artifacts i believe are caused by P.E.Op.S dsound, so i switched back to eternal's set (iirc they had the best compatability).

<P ID="signature"><hr>
Ludvuck Foruk: Thats your first problem...thinking your a panda...
sephiroth111: and once again, i am totally confused as to whats going on.</P>
sephiroth111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.