Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2004, 04:50 PM   #31
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: I think you just prooved his point

> at least i can do more with dos than windows ME

Maybe you know how to do more with DOS than you know how to do with WinME. But I can assure you WinME (even though it's a shitty OS) has potential to do far more if you know how to use it right.

Besides... I wasn't really attacking DOS... I was just saying it's old (which it is) and has limits about system specs (which it does).

<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 04:54 PM   #32
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: I think you just prooved his point

> No, you can run Windows 95 with 1GB RAM. Theoretically,
> Windows 95 should be able to address 4GB RAM. Of course,
> such an old OS would have a hard time using it all, but it
> would still work.

I heard from a few sources that Win95 doesn't boot if you have over 500MB of RAM. There's probably a patch or a workaround that would get it to work... though. Have you gotten Win95 to run on a machine with 1GB of RAM? And if so did you have to apply any tweaks/patches to it? I'm just echoing secondhand info here, since I have neither Win95 nor 1GB of ram [img]/wwwthreads/images/icons/tongue.gif[/img].

And about your other post... I want to give you a high five <img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif><img src=smilies/thumb.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 05:38 PM   #33
blackize
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,218
Default Re: gba emulation

I've run it on two machines, one AMD K6-2 380 MHz w/64 MB SDRAM and one Intel Celeron 1.2 Ghz w/128 MB SDRAM. Both ran slow, but it wasn't terrible, you could still play the games.

<P ID="signature"></P>
blackize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 06:55 PM   #34
SirDaShadow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: I think you just prooved his point

> I heard from a few sources that Win95 doesn't boot if you
> have over 500MB of RAM. There's probably a patch or a

It's the vcache part that doesn't work with too much physical memory. Just edit system.ini [vcache] section and limit it to 64MB or something like that.


<P ID="signature"></P>
SirDaShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 03:12 AM   #35
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: gba emulation

> You have no idea what you're talking about.

I'm afraid I have to side with the Moogle on this one. :P


<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 03:20 AM   #36
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: I think you just prooved his point

> And about your other post... I want to give you a high five

Me too. I coulodn't have said it better if I was Bill Gates.
<img src=smilies/laff.gif>

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 03:24 AM   #37
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: gba emulation

> I know that! windows dropped DOS long ago and with that
> SOME(NOT ALL) processors dropped the instructions too.

Have you even TRIED to run DOS on your computer? O_o

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 03:27 AM   #38
metbot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 205
Default ENOUGH!

<img src=smilies/headshake.gif>ok.stop. this problem was fixxed yesterday and those 5 machines? only one of them work cause i said i have ran vba on five machines that dont mean i own em anymore(I miss my athlon xp)<img src=smilies/cry.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>
metbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 03:32 AM   #39
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default VisualBoy Advance CE

Actually, this is much much faster than the last release of Visual Boy Advance. Maybe it was that version, come to think of it I never did test it out with the old version. It works fine with a frameskip of 2, no throttling, and Mame Scale2x turned on.

Although I wish he didn't take out hq2x filtering. <img src=smilies/cry.gif>

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 03:35 AM   #40
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: ENOUGH!

> ok.stop. this problem was fixxed yesterday and those 5
> machines? only one of them work cause i said i have ran vba
> on five machines that dont mean i own em anymore(I miss my
> athlon xp)

What problem was fixed? Am I missing something?

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:01 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.