Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2010, 09:15 AM   #1
sswcharlie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default TMS1000 Wilbert Pol

Hi

Has anyone done any work,like rom dump on the Texas Instruments TMS1000 used in a lot of games.

Also is Wilbert Pol on this list. I would like to contact him re the TMS1000

Thanks


Charlie
sswcharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 04:42 PM   #2
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

I thought I knew what you were asking, but after reading it a few times I'm not really sure exactly what it is you're trying to say.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 04:55 PM   #3
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

I'm not entirely sure what it is you're asking.... the TMS1000 is a processor. How are you going to do a ROM dump on a processor? I can't find any emulators for TI calculators that use the TMS1000 processor but a group has reverse engineered the Big Trak tank which used the TMS1000.

As for Wilbert Pol, have you tried asking on the Oficial M.E.S.S. forum? Since he's a regular contributer to M.E.S.S., I would imagine that someone there knows how to get in contact with him.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 04:16 AM   #4
sswcharlie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

I am a newbie to all this but I am advised that you can download the code off the TMS1000 processor.

What I would like to do :

I have a Hornby Zero One model train controller which uses a TMS1000 and I want to lift off the code and modify a little and put onto a modern chip etc.

Thanks
Charlie
sswcharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 05:09 AM   #5
Ugly Joe
Senior Member
 
Ugly Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Drunken Hacker View Post
I'm not entirely sure what it is you're asking.... the TMS1000 is a processor. How are you going to do a ROM dump on a processor?
From that link you posted:
Quote:
The program is burned into the 1024 byte ROM and is not modifiable. Because the program is in the microcontroller itself, not a separate ROM chip, it is not possible to replace the microcontroller with just any another TMS 1000 chip. You'd need to pull one from another Big Trak.
Apparently there's space on the chip itself for a small program.
__________________
Ugly Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:54 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.