Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2010, 07:59 PM   #1
jd_9393
Regular Member
 
jd_9393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Shadows
Posts: 31
Default PSX Iso Help

Let me state first this isn't a question on where to get Isos.

I recently downloaded the epsxe emu and downloaded FFVII and got a zip file unziped it and got:

SCUS-94163 (winzip file)
SCUS-94163.cue
SCUS-94163.ccd
SCUS-94163.sub

what do I do with these files.
__________________
Believe in what you can and cannot see.....
jd_9393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 08:14 PM   #2
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

I don't have a whole lot of experience dealing with PSX emulation but you might want to try the emulator named pSX. From what I recall, it's much more user friendly compared to ePSXe.

As for the files, if what you have is a complete disc image then you should be able to load any of the files and it will work.

Are you sure that you have a complete disc image, though? None of those extensions usually indicates a complete disc image. You should have a .bin or . img or some such. It looks like all you have is the peripheral files. What is the total file size of all of the files unzipped?
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 09:16 PM   #3
jd_9393
Regular Member
 
jd_9393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Shadows
Posts: 31
Default

SCUS-94163 (winzip file) - 729,918KB
SCUS-94163.cue - 1KB
SCUS-94163.ccd - 1KB
SCUS-94163.sub - 29,793KB
__________________
Believe in what you can and cannot see.....
jd_9393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 09:28 PM   #4
jd_9393
Regular Member
 
jd_9393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Shadows
Posts: 31
Default

Just forget it.. I barely got my N64 emu working on this bucket of a PC and it still has graphic, texture & frame rate issues so a PSX one is out of the question..thanks anyway...
__________________
Believe in what you can and cannot see.....
jd_9393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 10:19 PM   #5
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

From my experiences, PSX emulation tends to run smoother on older PCs than N64 emulation.

Are you sure you extracted all of the files from the ZIP? If the main zip is 700MB, you should have a lot more than 30MB worth of files in it. It looks to me like you failed to extract the primary disc image, which would explain why you can't get it to work.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 12:49 AM   #6
jd_9393
Regular Member
 
jd_9393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Shadows
Posts: 31
Default

Really, well thats good I was about to give up on PSX emulation

I didn't save the zip I downloaded. So downloaded another from a different site opened it in Winzip and this is how it looks

Final Fantasy VII (USA) (Disc1).cue - 98KB
Final Fantasy VII (USA) (Disc1).7z - 396MB
__________________
Believe in what you can and cannot see.....
jd_9393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 02:09 AM   #7
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

If you're not familiar with 7z, it's a newer compression scheme that compresses data considerably better than .zip or .rar. You'll have to unzip the .7z file to get to the data. (Unless maybe the emulator already has .7z support, which is possible.)

You can decompress 7zip with WinRAR or with the free 7zip utility from http://www.7-zip.org/.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 11:19 AM   #8
schmocke
Senior Member
 
schmocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 125
Default

Thatīs right - obtain 7-zip and extract the imagefile, assuming itīs a *.bin file. Also, make sure that the *.cue file has the right path and name of the *.bin file included (just open the *.cue file with notepad and take a look - it should correspondent with your extracted *.bin file).
I recommend using ePSXe, since Final Fantasy needs special Hacks to run properly. ePSXe has that, youīll find it in itīs configuration tool.
So, setup ePSXe like you want (there are many guides around) and give it a go.
schmocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 03:09 PM   #9
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

I've ran FF7 in pSX just fine, as far as I know. (I've never played it on a console, so it's possible that I wouldn't notice differences, but there was certainly nothing glaringly obvious.)

Maybe ePSXe is different than pSX, but the .cue file is irrelevant. You can open the .bin directly.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 10:27 PM   #10
jd_9393
Regular Member
 
jd_9393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Shadows
Posts: 31
Default

I finally got it..I downloaded 7-Zip extracted it was a data.bin.ecm so I used PakkISO to unecm it and it worked. I when back to ePSXe because a few errors popped up when I ran pSX. PSX emulation is smoother than N64 emulation. Thanks for the help...
__________________
Believe in what you can and cannot see.....
jd_9393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:21 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.