Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2010, 05:07 AM   #1
Mr.Tickles
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default PC Engine emulation

How do I do it? Magic Engine isnt reading the rom I have.
Mr.Tickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 03:35 PM   #2
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

Well, based on the information you've provided, it's either a problem with your emulator, a problem with your ROM, a problem with your computer or a problem with your seat-to-keyboard interface.

1) What version of Magic Engine are you using? Is it the demo, a legitimately purchased version or a pirated version?

2) What ROM are you trying to run? Is it a Hu-Card image or a CD image?

3) What do you mean it isn't reading it? Is it just doing nothing? Is it throwing an error?

4) Have you tried any other emulators?

a) Ootake is a good alternative. It's legitimately free and seems to run a bit faster on my system than Magic Engine, based on a non-scientific test I just did with Bonk's Adventure.

b) Turbo Engine is another free alternative. I've never used it until just now but had no problem loading up Bonk's Adventure. It also appears to run a bit faster than Magic Engine on my system. Both Ootake and Turbo Engine have been updated within the past 6 months, unlike Magic Engine, which hasn't seen an update in over two years.

c) Mednafen & MESS are multi-emulators that support TG16. I haven't used either of them, but they've both been updated this year (which may or may not include updates to the TG16 emulation) so if you don't like any of the other options, these might be worth a shot.
__________________
I used to be a ROM hacker like you. Then I took an arrow to the feels.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:47 PM   #3
Mr.Tickles
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default

The demo version of magic engine.

The ROM is a folder full of files, though I tried making a disk image and that didnt work either.
Mr.Tickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 05:06 PM   #4
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

Are you trying to run a PCE CD game? If so, you shouldn't have a "folder full of files". You should have a disk image. I doubt simply sticking the files into an ISO is going to work, it would need to be in the proper format. I would suggest downloading the game from somewhere else.
__________________
I used to be a ROM hacker like you. Then I took an arrow to the feels.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:21 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.