Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2006, 07:03 PM   #1
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default OSX Executable Problem

I am still installing some programs on the new iBook I posted about a while back, which, BTW, amy aunt had already installed Tiger on. <("<)
So I am installing programs, and I'm not quite sure how OSX executables work. I know that they are set up somewhat like folders. (I remember resource forks from OS7...) But some of the executables (i.e. installation executables) do not have a filename, and they are not folders. It shows up as a "UNIX Executable", just like everything else that Tiger doesn't know what it is. I tried renaming it to ".app", but that didn't work either. Should I be trying to decompress it, or does it work like a package, or what?

If you have any help, that would be greatly appreciated.
<P ID="signature"><hr></P>
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:09 PM   #2
soniczip
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 782
Default Re: OSX Executable Problem

> I am still installing some programs on the new iBook I
> posted about a while back, which, BTW, amy aunt had already
> installed Tiger on.
>

Did you try Google?
Does <font color=blue>th<a href=http://developer.apple.com/documentation/Porting/Conceptual/PortingUnix/compiling/chapter_4_section_7.html>i</a>s</font> help?
<P ID="signature">We port Kid Cuisine to the Playstation 2.
<img src=http://www.geocities.com/ikeeyebee/kidcuisinetotheplaystation2.png><img src=http://www.geocities.com/ikeeyebee/aim.gif></P>
soniczip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:23 PM   #3
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default Re: OSX Executable Problem

> Does this help?
>

NO
<P ID="signature"><hr></P>
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:32 PM   #4
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: OSX Executable Problem

Like in Unix/linux, make sure the file's permissions are set to "Execute". A quick Google search implies that Mac OS X isn't identifying the owner or file permissions, so it shows up as a generic 'unix executable'.

I don't have a Mac to test it out on though.
<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:39 PM   #5
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default Re: OSX Executable Problem

> Like in Unix/linux, make sure the file's permissions are set
> to "Execute".

heh heh... I can't believe I forgot that. So I must have to do that from the console, eh?
<P ID="signature"><hr></P>
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:45 PM   #6
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: OSX Executable Problem

> > Like in Unix/linux, make sure the file's permissions are
> set
> > to "Execute".
>
> heh heh... I can't believe I forgot that. So I must have to
> do that from the console, eh?

It's been a while, but I think you can right-click and go to "File Properties" or some such. But I haven't been in front of a Mac in over a year.
<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:49 PM   #7
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default Re: OSX Executable Problem

Yes, that would be Get Info, or Cmd+I. However, I believe that dialog only sets r and w permissions.

That, and, I just realized I don't remember how to set permissions in the UNIX prompt.

Ooh, does this mean I can set permissions to rwx, rw,and nothing so I can be the only run to run it?
<P ID="signature"><hr></P>
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:55 PM   #8
CEpeep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: OSX Executable Problem

> That, and, I just realized I don't remember how to set
> permissions in the UNIX prompt.
>

chmod +x
<P ID="signature"><font size="-2">Communism doesn't work because people like to own stuff ~ Frank Zappa</font></P>
CEpeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:57 PM   #9
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default Re: OSX Executable Problem

> chmod +x
>

Thanks a bundle.
<P ID="signature"><hr></P>
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 08:30 PM   #10
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default SOLVED

Toast seems to be handling it by itself, there was magically a filename extension ".toast" which there WASN'T in windows. So I guess it will work thanks to toast.
<img src=smilies/mystery.gif>
<P ID="signature"><hr></P>
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:21 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.