Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2004, 10:11 AM   #1
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Highly Advanced

I like this new plugin, a little bit of a system hog, but so was VBA. <img src=smilies/erm.gif>

Anyway, I've noticed a small error with the Interpolation combo box. It doesn't show you all the options. (The bottom one, bandlimited is highlited by default. FIR, cubic, linear and up are the next four going up.) After checking the mirrors, I haven't found a way to email CaitSith2 about it. So I'll post it here! (Watch this... Never fails, now that I've posted this, email addy is given.... <img src=smilies/banghead.gif>)

Keep up the good work guys.

<P ID="signature"><a href=http://disch.zophar.net><img src=http://www.cpinternet.com/~norwin/lenophis/sig.png border=0>
"For lovers of irony; I'll just say one thing...wishes do come true." - Lobster Cowboy.</a></P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 05:33 PM   #2
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: Highly Advanced

> Anyway, I've noticed a small error with the Interpolation
> combo box. It doesn't show you all the options.

I noticed that too.

Also... the interpolation seems... well... kind of shitty. It like completely muffles the sound, and distorts some of the instruments beyond recognition -- try playing AoS - Clock Tower (best GBA song evar!)... if interpolation is on, the guitar near the end sounds god awful.

Since interpolation normally doesn't cause either of these sideeffects... I'm under the assumption that the formula(s) they're using have an error somewhere.

But anyway... yeah this plugin is fantastic. Excellent work to all those involved.

<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 07:28 PM   #3
SivakDrac
Senior Member
 
SivakDrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 903
Default Re: Highly Advanced

> Also... the interpolation seems... well... kind of shitty.
> It like completely muffles the sound, and distorts some of
> the instruments beyond recognition -- try playing AoS -
> Clock Tower (best GBA song evar!)... if interpolation is on,
> the guitar near the end sounds god awful.

Yes. Turn off interpolation. You need to currently use the arrows to get up to the "None" option. Though some of these games just naturally have scratchy instruments it seems... Not a big deal. Can't wait till Mega Man BN soundtracks come out.

Oh, and the best song in AoS is Top Floor. <img src=smilies/cwm11.gif>

<P ID="signature"><HR>http://www.geocities.com/lordsivak/index.htmlVisit my Mega Man page</A>

</P>
SivakDrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 07:40 PM   #4
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: Highly Advanced

> Oh, and the best song in AoS is Top Floor.

All the music in AoS was fantastic. In fact... that game was just completely awesome overall.

I still say, were AoS made for PSX in the same manner SotN was... it would have been the better game. But SotN had the advantage of being for a better system.

<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 03:55 AM   #5
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Highly Advanced

I noticed CaitSith2's rip of FF1&2 was untimed and untagged, so I did the honors for him. It is still uploading, and I'll edit this post and linky when it's finished. <img src=smilies/thumb.gif>

--Edit--
As promised, <a href=http://www.cpinternet.com/~norwin/lenophis/ff1&2_gsf.rar>here</a> are the goods.

<P ID="signature"><a href=http://disch.zophar.net><img src=http://www.cpinternet.com/~norwin/lenophis/sig.png border=0>
"For lovers of irony; I'll just say one thing...wishes do come true." - Lobster Cowboy.</a></P><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by Lenophis on 10/21/04 11:19 PM.</FONT></P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 04:02 AM   #6
JadussD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,100
Default Crashes here.

> Keep up the good work guys.
>

From everything I hear, this plug-in is great, but it crashes on my system:

Athlon 1GHz
Winamp 5.05 (crashes on Winamp 2 also, I updated to WA5 to try to get it to work)
Running Windows 98SE
uhh...Soundblaster Audio PCI with WDM drivers.

It doesn't crash when I try to run a GSF, it actually crashes before Winamp is even fully started...I get an illegal operation with an exception 10h from in_gsf.dll.

I also have in_psf installed. I don't think that would have any bearing but I am mentioning it.

<P ID="signature"><HR>
<CENTER>http://members.aol.com/jadussvii/Alc...ngineering.oggThis music wants you dead.</a></center></P>
JadussD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 04:12 AM   #7
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Crashes here.

<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

It doesn't crash when I try to run a GSF, it actually crashes before Winamp is even fully started...I get an illegal operation with an exception 10h from in_gsf.dll.

<hr></blockquote>
Just out of curiousity, what do you have your output set to? Mine is currently set to "waveout."


<P ID="signature"><a href=http://disch.zophar.net><img src=http://www.cpinternet.com/~norwin/lenophis/sig.png border=0>
"For lovers of irony; I'll just say one thing...wishes do come true." - Lobster Cowboy.</a></P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 04:42 AM   #8
JadussD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: Crashes here.

> Just out of curiousity, what do you have your output set to?
> Mine is currently set to "waveout."
>

Mine is set to waveout as well. Tried setting it to DirectSound, no dice.

<P ID="signature"><HR>
<CENTER>http://members.aol.com/jadussvii/Alc...ngineering.oggThis music wants you dead.</a></center></P>
JadussD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 04:57 AM   #9
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Crashes here.

<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

Mine is set to waveout as well. Tried setting it to DirectSound, no dice.

<hr></blockquote>
If you use NotSo Fatso, did that give you the same problem before Disch dumped MFC?

I'm thinking that the .dll is still looking for the MFC shit even if the plugin was built not to.

I could be wrong, but that's the only thing I can think of. It should be working for ya, no doubt about that.

<P ID="signature"><a href=http://disch.zophar.net><img src=http://www.cpinternet.com/~norwin/lenophis/sig.png border=0>
"For lovers of irony; I'll just say one thing...wishes do come true." - Lobster Cowboy.</a></P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:08 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.