Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2004, 04:34 AM   #1
sephiroth111
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 756
Default is it me or...

has ZSNES' sound gotten worse?

i dont know, for some reason the SPC core they use (at least in the current wip) is really off sounding. what settings would produce accurate sounds?

<P ID="signature"><hr>
Ludvuck Foruk: Thats your first problem...thinking your a panda...
sephiroth111: and once again, i am totally confused as to whats going on.</P>
sephiroth111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 02:32 PM   #2
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: is it me or...

> has ZSNES' sound gotten worse?
>
> i dont know, for some reason the SPC core they use (at
> least in the current wip) is really off sounding. what
> settings would produce accurate sounds?

Well, I think that the sound was tweaked recently, but I haven't noticed anything wrong myself. My settings are 8 Point filtering, 48000 hz sample rate, dynamic low pass filter.


<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD

My Weblog...the official distributor of LonLon Milk in New York.
</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 04:38 PM   #3
sephiroth111
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 756
Default Re: is it me or...

> My settings are 8 Point filtering, 48000 hz sample rate, dynamic low >pass filter.

ah, cause i've been using cubic spline and/or the gaussin thingy

<P ID="signature"><hr>
Ludvuck Foruk: Thats your first problem...thinking your a panda...
sephiroth111: and once again, i am totally confused as to whats going on.</P>
sephiroth111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 05:14 PM   #4
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: is it me or...

> ah, cause i've been using cubic spline and/or the gaussin
> thingy

Hm, might there be a bug there then? I do know that Gaussian Interpolation is the SNES's actual interpolation, that is used in the hardware itself, so that should be how it's supposed to sound if you want accuracy. <img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD

My Weblog...the official distributor of LonLon Milk in New York.
</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:51 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.