Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2004, 07:29 AM   #21
MegaManJuno
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: WV
Posts: 626
Default Re: gba emulation

> You still haven't said anything about what OS and your
> system specs, aside from processor.
>

Yes, for instance, here are a few questions that come to mind:

1) What CPU are you running?
2) How much Memory do you have?
3a) What video card are you running?
3b) ...and what driver version are you running with this card?
4) What OS are you running?
5a) What resolution are you running?
5b) ...and what bit depth are you running with that resolution?
5c) ...and would this be windowed or fullscreen?
6) Do you have a video filter turned on?
7) ...or interframe blending turned on?

Things like this need to be known if you expect other people to be able to even take a good guess at helping you increase performance. I have other questions, but this is a good start.

<P ID="signature"></P>
MegaManJuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 07:33 AM   #22
MegaManJuno
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: WV
Posts: 626
Default Re: gba emulation

> SOME(NOT ALL) processors dropped the instructions too.

To my knowledge the x86 line of processors has always added new instructions to the already existing set, and never have removed any. If you're so adamant that instructions were removed, by all means, show us some proof to back up your claim.

<P ID="signature"></P>
MegaManJuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 07:34 AM   #23
metbot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 205
Default Re: I think you just prooved his point

And DOS is way older than Win95... and the limits
> are a lot more restricting.
>
at least i can do more with dos than windows ME

<P ID="signature"></P>
metbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 07:49 AM   #24
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: gba emulation

> 833mhz
> 1.4ghz
> 501mhz
> 2.8ghz
> 1.7ghz

Perhaps you should start by listing the system specs and such on all of these machines. Then, we can get somewhere.

<P ID="signature"><img src=http://www.cpinternet.com/~norwin/lenophis/sig.png>
"For lovers of irony; I'll just say one thing...wishes do come true." - Lobster Cowboy. Jade</P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 08:27 AM   #25
metbot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 205
Default Re: gba emulation

> 833mhz -128 mb-98SE
> 1.4ghz-128 mb-ME
> 501mhz-98mb-xp
> 2.8ghz-256mb-xp pro
> 1.7ghz-64mb-ME


<P ID="signature"></P>
metbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 08:47 AM   #26
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: gba emulation

> > 833mhz -128 mb-98SE
> > 1.4ghz-128 mb-ME
> > 501mhz-98mb-xp
> > 2.8ghz-256mb-xp pro
> > 1.7ghz-64mb-ME

OK, I'm gonna go over a list of stuff you should check...
1) What version of VBA are you using on all of these machines?
2) Look at resolution properties. What is your color settings at? I don't know for sure, but it may not like 24 bit, change it to 16 or 32 and see if that helps.
3) What other programs are running at the same time? If nothing, then do the following: run scandisk, run defrag, run anti-virus software, run adware scanner. VBA is kinda processor intensive. Half of my CPU is taken up, and I have a 550MHz. If any system hoggers are on in the background, kill them...
4) Try turning the sound off altogether, see if that helps. In VBA, not your speaker volume. <img src=smilies/laff.gif>

Any luck?

<P ID="signature"><img src=http://www.cpinternet.com/~norwin/lenophis/sig.png>
"For lovers of irony; I'll just say one thing...wishes do come true." - Lobster Cowboy. Jade</P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 12:14 PM   #27
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: I think you just prooved his point

> DOS is an archaic OS. There are built in limits... once
> your machine surpasses those limits, the OS won't work. You
> can't run Win95 with 1GB of RAM.... that doesn't mean modern
> RAM is different from older RAM... just that Win95's limit
> is lower. And DOS is way older than Win95... and the limits
> are a lot more restricting.

No, you can run Windows 95 with 1GB RAM. Theoretically, Windows 95 should be able to address 4GB RAM. Of course, such an old OS would have a hard time using it all, but it would still work.

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 12:22 PM   #28
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: gba emulation

> *sigh*older processors have special "instructions" that most
> processors dont have today.VBA is probably designed for an
> older type of process (why do you think you cant run DOS
> 6.22 on a AMD athlon XP 2400+?)

You can run DOS 6.22 on an AMD Athlon XP. I could probably find a version on the internet, make a boot disk and get into DOS. Hell, I could even find an archaic version of a DOS 1.0 or (gulp) QDOS and boot from those. My shiny new Athlon XP is entirely backwards compatible right back to the 8086 and even 4004.

The amount of RAM isn't an issue. DOS would simply be unable to see nearly 511MB of my RAM and use the old conventional, upper and high memory arrangement.

My video and sound cards also aren't an issue. My video card is fully VGA compatible, so that would work. My sound card is an unknown factor, but it's not essential for DOS usage anyway.

My keyboard and mouse? They use the standard keyboard and PS/2 ports. Generic DOS drivers will ignore the extra buttons on my keyboard and my mouse wheel, but the basic functions will work.

All in all, my PC is an AMD Athlon XP 2100+ and it is fully ready to use anything. CP/M, QDOS, DOS, Windows 1.0, Windows 2.0, Windows 3.0, Windows 3.1, Windows 3.11, Windows 95, Windows 98, Windows 98SE, Windows Me, Windows NT 3.51, Windows NT 4.0, Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, Linux, Unix, BeOS, they all work fine!

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 04:10 PM   #29
SirDaShadow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: gba emulation

>
> All in all, my PC is an AMD Athlon XP 2100+ and it is fully
> ready to use anything. CP/M, QDOS, DOS, Windows 1.0, Windows
Well said. Gotta love when people "think" they know shit about computers and are clueless about the basics <img src=smilies/upeyes.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>
SirDaShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 04:47 PM   #30
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: gba emulation

> I know that! windows dropped DOS long ago and with that
> SOME(NOT ALL) processors dropped the instructions too.

Like I said before... a processor can't just drop instructions. It would break pretty much every program that would run on the machine (windows alone probably uses 99% of the original x86 instruction set). I'd really like to know what you're basing this info on... or if you're just pulling it out of your ass.

<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:17 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.