Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2009, 02:15 AM   #41
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fts89 View Post
If u launch a rom...
Do u or anyone else
You are violating rule 9 of the forums. Final warning. Don't do it again.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 02:25 AM   #42
fts89
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Sorry i'm new to the forum, but thanks for giving me the first and also the final warning ...
fts89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 02:27 AM   #43
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Ah, well...chances are when it's patched the checksum won't be correct, so don't worry about that (only in rare circumstances where the checksum was fixed up purposely will it be correct with a hack).

And no, we can't send you the ROM. Also, I should have realized you didn't mention it...what emulator are you trying to use (have you tried many of them)? Also, I assume your ROM is verified by NSRT as being good?
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 02:37 AM   #44
fts89
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

I'm using snes9x 1.51 and zsnesw 1.42. Same errors for both.

Hmm, i don't know. If i'm allowed to post the stuff NSRT is showing up, I would like to post it here, so you can see and tell me if there's anything wrong with the different ROM's im using (this is meant as question... I might be violating rules in case I post it,I don't know if it's allowed).
But I can say it's saying the ROM got a possible bad dump. Is this bad? :/

Also I gotta mention: This is the first time i'm having problems patching ROM's. I have already patched many Pokemon GBA/GBC and Snes ROM's, so I don't know what the error could be. I'm doing exactly the same as usual.

Probably the ROMs are not good... i hope that's the problem
fts89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 02:42 AM   #45
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

An NSRT log is fine. Just not the ROM itself. If it's saying the original unpatched ROM is bad, that is definitely a problem. Make sure you run it on the unpatched ROM and report back on what it's saying.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 02:50 AM   #46
fts89
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Here the UNPATCHED ROM NSRT Log.

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Secret of Evermore (U).smc
Name: SECRET OF EVERMORE
Company: Square
Header: SWC
Bank: HiROM
Interleaved: None
SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: Normal + Batt
ROM: 24 Mb
Country: USA
Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)
Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x33C2
Game Code: AEOE


Hashes needed too? I don't think they are much of an use for you^^
fts89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 03:15 AM   #47
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

I'm not really sure why it's not working for you...that same ROM patches fine for me. It *should* be a good ROM. Hmm...make sure you aren't removing the header by accident or something when you scan it. You probably aren't, but I had some confusion a few minutes ago because it was failing after patching for me...I realized I'd set NSRT to remove headers and forgot about it. :P On the first scan it said it had a header, on subsequent scans of course it didn't.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 03:48 AM   #48
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

corrupted patch maybe?
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 04:45 AM   #49
fts89
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Hm, I've just redownloaded the Patch from this site.

Patching works...but only on two ways:
- If i leave the header on the ROM and patch it with the header Patch.
- If i remove the header and patch it with the headerless Patch.

I guess its supposed to be this way, BUT I cant see any major or minjor changes in the beginning of the game. Makes me doubtful. Anything wrong there?

I hope I wasn't wasting your time guys in case it already had worked the first time, but am still pretty doubtful about that
fts89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 05:42 AM   #50
Maximum Potion
Staff (news - ROM hacking/translations)
 
Maximum Potion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Châteauguay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fts89 View Post
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Secret of Evermore (U).smc
Name: SECRET OF EVERMORE
Isn't this a Zelda hack?
__________________
Metroid: Other M. June 27th, 2010.
Delayed - August 31st, 2010.
Maximum Potion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:33 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.