Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2009, 11:49 PM   #1
strings805
Junior Member
 
strings805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
Default Question about FF6LE...

I downloaded this program a few days ago onto my PC, opened it up and started editing dungeons/levels/etc. But, after I saved my work, none of the changes translated to my rom when I began playing it, and sure enough when I opened up the program, all of my work was undone. Is there a special way to save so all of my changes stay?
strings805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 12:56 AM   #2
InVerse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest, U.S.
Posts: 1,489
Default

Is your ROM set to Read Only in Windows? If so, that would prevent any changes from becoming permanent. (To check, right click on your ROM in Windows Explorer, click Properties and see if Read Only is checked under Attributes at the bottom of the window. If so, uncheck it.
InVerse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 03:22 AM   #3
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default

This program is a bit quirky. When you File->Save Levels with the map editor, you must also File->Save Rom with the main dialog. In the event you were doing that and nothing was still being saved, InVerse's suggestion is what you should do.
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 04:38 AM   #4
strings805
Junior Member
 
strings805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
Default

there is no option in File to save rom, only save levels, and then options to import, export, or clear levels. por que?

**EDIT**

Oh, and also my rom is not set to read-only.

Last edited by strings805; 08-02-2009 at 05:01 AM.
strings805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 08:32 AM   #5
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default

*sigh*

Linky.

There is a File button on both of those dialogs I'm pointing at. You must use both.
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 08:46 AM   #6
Isildur
Senior Member
 
Isildur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,339
Default

From the sounds of it though, perhaps they should change the map editor menu item to say "apply" or something, not "save". =P
__________________
Holding out for Hostess Snack Cakes...
Isildur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 09:26 AM   #7
strings805
Junior Member
 
strings805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
Default

From the looks of it, we were using different versions of FF6LE. I didn't know another one had been put out with Gogo as the icon, as the original, where it was the FFVI icon, did not have a file option on the main dialogue box. Thanks again though, I found the new one, and it works just fine.
strings805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:17 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.