Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2009, 02:51 AM   #1
Sigma X Virus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Yet another FF6 modding attempt

I want to make a "revised edition" of FF6, that is, a text hack that changes some little things from the Woolsey version to leave it more in line with the other games (i. e. monster/spell names and some things that were a bit "off" after the localization). My problem is the following:

I need to edit the text from the menus and battle screens. Sadly, no FF6 editor changes this. Is ripping a script with a hex editor w/thingy table a good choice? I ripped a script already, and even though I can freely edit the text with Notepad I'm worried about space issues. What if my edits are heavier in size than the original ROM? Is it possible to have a longer script? Or should I learn the tedious art of hex editing every byte?

Also the same for the normal out of battle dialogue. I was planning on using Yousei's editor for that, but the bugs in that app are discouraging me. Besides, that app rejects any ROM already hacked, so I'm out of luck for dealing with an already modified ROM.

Thanks.
Sigma X Virus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 03:30 AM   #2
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sigma X Virus View Post
I need to edit the text from the menus and battle screens. Sadly, no FF6 editor changes this.
I don't think any editor will ever change it. The text in the menu is scattered all over bank C3 (open up the FWF table, previously labeled the battle table and take a look). The strings use a format that others may not notice immediately. Before every string are two bytes, which is where in VRAM the string will go (generally, do not edit it unless you know where you want the text to be). After the string is the null terminator, obviously. The text is drawn one of three ways:

LDY #$immedate (pointer to the text! this points to C3/whateverthisLDYholds)
JSR $02F9

LDX #immediate (pointer to pointers to the text! this points to C3/whateverthisLDXholds, then the pointers there point to C3/contentsofpointers)
LDY #immediate (number of strings to write*2)
JSR $69BA

LDA (whatever, could be anything)
STA $2180 (this could be looped to, could be done multiple times
STZ $2180 (or LDA #$00 STA $2180)
JMP $7FD9

This is generally done when it draws text "on the fly" (such as a character's name) as opposed to hard strings in the rom.

As convoluted as this sounds, it's a pretty simple system. As for battles, that's another matter...

Quote:
Also the same for the normal out of battle dialogue. I was planning on using Yousei's editor for that, but the bugs in that app are discouraging me.
Do not use FF3Ed, period. End of discussion, end of story, end of sentence.
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 03:58 AM   #3
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenophis View Post
Do not use FF3Ed, period. End of discussion, end of story, end of sentence.
Care to explain what so bad about it ?
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 04:12 AM   #4
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default

It will corrupt your rom. Maybe not as often as Hyrule Magic does, but it will do it.
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 10:27 PM   #5
Sigma X Virus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Well, I tried the script editing method, but I tried to reinsert it and it didn't fit. Is it possible to expand the rom size?
Sigma X Virus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 10:31 PM   #6
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default

Very easily. It's Hirom, so the only option you really need is 32 Mbit (4 MB) on the bottom left.
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 06:42 AM   #7
Sigma X Virus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks. So, if I'm getting this correctly (I'm a noob at this) then the process boils down to the following:

- Expand ROM
- Rip script, edit, reinsert (for both battle/menu and dialogue text)
- Recalculate pointers
- ???
- Profit!
Sigma X Virus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 07:46 AM   #8
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default

The dialogue will be a bit of a pain to recalculate, since they aren't 24-bit pointers. The game checks for a specific index, and if greater than that it increments the bank byte. But for the most part, yeah that's pretty much it.
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:30 PM   #9
Sigma X Virus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I experimented quite a bit. Yeah. FF3Ed is too unstable - even the smallest change to the dialogue left me unable to access the world map.

I guess I have no choice but to edit the script with Notepad, which hangs for a minute everytime I change something big. (and I'm not trusting that either, if this editing has repercussions, I'm screwed) I'll use the program just as a "preview" for how the text fits into the boxes.

Quote:
The dialogue will be a bit of a pain to recalculate, since they aren't 24-bit pointers. The game checks for a specific index, and if greater than that it increments the bank byte.
Excuse my noobness, but if I run into a difficult situation with this, I'd be stumped. I just know how to recalculate with automated tools. Do I have to to it by hand with an hex editor?
Sigma X Virus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 09:31 PM   #10
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sigma X Virus View Post
I guess I have no choice but to edit the script with Notepad, which hangs for a minute everytime I change something big. (and I'm not trusting that either, if this editing has repercussions, I'm screwed) I'll use the program just as a "preview" for how the text fits into the boxes.
If you're dumping it to a text file, how did you plan on reinserting it?

Quote:
Excuse my noobness, but if I run into a difficult situation with this, I'd be stumped. I just know how to recalculate with automated tools. Do I have to to it by hand with an hex editor?
Recalculating by hand isn't advised, since there's over 3000 strings. I believe Atlas has support for that, though I'm not 100% sure on it. It'll be easy if you know how to use it (which I do not, unfortunately).
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:38 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.