Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2006, 02:20 AM   #11
D--
Senior Member
 
D--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chaoyang, Beijing, China
Posts: 826
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

> I'd like to see that. I always thought that it took 10
> times the power of the CPU you are emulating or something
> like that (ie a 266MHz CPU) in order to run a game at full
> speed. (at least that's what I heard)

Only if you use a lot of half-assed code hacks and only care about making games run, not emulating the actual hardware.

I think byuu's intent is for bsnes to be hardware accurate, so anything tested in bsnes will work on a real SNES. With Snes9x and ZSNES, most of the time, stuff written t work on them explodes on actual hardware (see the font in Ys IV, the earlier patch for Wonder Project J, our early work on Tekkaman Blade SNES, or the flame on the title screen of RPGOne's first Dragon Quest I&II patch).
<P ID="signature"><hr>
Cinnamon Pirate.com</P>
__________________
portfolio :: deviantArt :: 微博 :: Twitter
D-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 02:56 AM   #12
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

You don't need that fast of a computer. I run a Pentium M 2.0GHz and get 110% speed in bsnes if I disable frame limiting.

<hr></blockquote>
And you are an idiot if you don't think "don't need a fast computer" is along the lines of two fucking gigahertz you moron. "Not a fast computer" is more like 300MHz. So, would you care to try again?
<P ID="signature"><center><img src=http://leno.hypher.net/images/slick.png border=0 title="How Slick are you?">
Slickness factor of 10.</center></P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:09 AM   #13
JadussD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

> And you are an idiot if you don't think "don't need a fast
> computer" is along the lines of two fucking gigahertz you
> moron. "Not a fast computer" is more like 300MHz. So, would
> you care to try again?

Excuse me, but that was totally un-fucking-warranted. What the fuck is your problem?

I don't want to see shit like that again, thank you very fucking much.
<P ID="signature"></P>
JadussD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:10 AM   #14
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

I have a 1.73 GHz Pentium M on my laptop and it runs okay. I can't find any of the standard cleanup/filter options on it, though, so it blurs a bit when I resize the image... which, frankly, sucks.
<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 04:57 AM   #15
D--
Senior Member
 
D--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chaoyang, Beijing, China
Posts: 826
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

> I have a P4 1.7 Ghz. I'm about to try it.

Apologies, I just reread my original post. I don't get 110% speed. I get 110 fps, which is 180% speed.
<P ID="signature"><hr>
Cinnamon Pirate.com</P>
__________________
portfolio :: deviantArt :: 微博 :: Twitter
D-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 04:58 AM   #16
D--
Senior Member
 
D--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chaoyang, Beijing, China
Posts: 826
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

> I have a 1.73 GHz Pentium M on my laptop and it runs okay. I
> can't find any of the standard cleanup/filter options on it,
> though, so it blurs a bit when I resize the image... which,
> frankly, sucks.

Filtering options aren't standard ...

His resize option doesn't do anything to actually enhance the image, it just uses the hardware scaling built into your graphics card. Blame them or ask for software filtering :-/
<P ID="signature"><hr>
Cinnamon Pirate.com</P>
__________________
portfolio :: deviantArt :: 微博 :: Twitter
D-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 05:06 AM   #17
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

> And you are an idiot if you don't think "don't need a fast
> computer" is along the lines of two fucking gigahertz you
> moron. "Not a fast computer" is more like 300MHz. So, would
> you care to try again?

Dude, are you living in a time-warp? I can easily remember when 500Mhz was fast. That was in 1999!
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 05:22 AM   #18
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

Dude, are you living in a time-warp? I can easily remember when 500Mhz was fast. That was in 1999!

<hr></blockquote>
The post was about the opposite of fast, aka "slow" or "slower than fast." I was asking about this very topic shortly after I made my post and bbitmaster came to the conclusion that "speed is relative." Given where applications and programs are in terms of speed, "not as fast" translates to about a 600MHz or so, but that ultimately depends and can widely vary. Saying that 2 GHz "isn't really that fast" doesn't fly, given the resources needed to run most programs.

Only most MMORPG's that are insanely graphics heavy require fast machines, otherwise everything else has a long ways to catch up.
<P ID="signature"><center><img src=http://leno.hypher.net/images/slick.png border=0 title="How Slick are you?">
Slickness factor of 10.</center></P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 05:24 AM   #19
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

> Filtering options aren't standard ...

I guess they're just put into nearly every emulator I play.
<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 05:48 AM   #20
byuu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: BSNES (rules)

2ghz Pentium IV :
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=6837109020
Price? $65. And I'm sure you can find a better deal. Yes, a 2ghz P4 is slow by today's standards.
And yes, 2ghz for an SNES emulator is excessive. I'm well aware of that.

Again, the filter options will be in the next version. It will basically use any hardware filtering your card supports, which is usually only point and bilinear.
Two reasons I don't add filters such as HQ2x: 1) The code is a mess, and I don't like messy code in my projects. 2) These filters are highly CPU-intensive. With a 1.5ghz requirement for 60fps, how much overhead do you think using HQ2x will add to that? Keep in mind that bsnes runs 10-20% faster simply by not copying the 256x223 rendered video output from system RAM -> video RAM (yet still rendering the image internally), and that HQ2x quadruples the amount of data needed to be sent each frame.
I won't even get into technical problems inherent to direct scaling filters such as aspect ratio correction, hires mode, and interlacing.
byuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:30 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.