Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2009, 05:39 PM   #1
Red-XIII
Senior Member
 
Red-XIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Turnersville, NJ
Posts: 120
Default Incorrect voltage readings



What's wrong with this picture? If you said you're voltage readings are totally fubar then you're correct. Been this way ever since I've built this system but everything runs the way it should and never crashes.

Makes no sense. Anyone have a clue what could cause this?
Red-XIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 08:21 PM   #2
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,391
Default

From my understanding voltage can be misread by 3rd party programs or even the motherboard itself.
Also, some motherboards have power saving features where it undervolts when idle. Did you measure the voltage under load?

in any case, try measuring the voltage of the power supply directly.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 10:07 PM   #3
Fla Flash
Staff (News -- Rom Hacking)
 
Fla Flash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 8,141
Default

I wouldn't trust third party prog either....use a tester. Voltage reading can vary, depending on what's not even running, but drawing voltage anyway.
Fla Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 07:32 AM   #4
Sliver-X
Regular Member
 
Sliver-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 69
Default

Your PC couldn't even function if the voltages were that low. Either Everest is misreading the sensor output (Due to insufficient support for the chip type, whatever) or something's wrong with the sensor itself.

Your PC must be relatively new if it's running Windows 7: Check your CMOS settings for a menu related to hardware monitoring and see what the voltage readouts are there.
Sliver-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 09:13 AM   #5
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sliver-X View Post
Your PC couldn't even function if the voltages were that low.
you know, now that I've look at those numbers again, you make a very good point.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:08 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.