Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2007, 12:43 AM   #1
SwampGas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,915
Default ????????

New system:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+ 2.61Ghz
2Gb DDR2
320Gb SATA 3.0Gb/s
Nero 7 Ultra
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
Lite-On 16x DVD+/-R

20 minutes to rip a movie with dvdshrink......6 minutes to burn it. It used to take 40-50 mins to rip it and 40 mins to burn it. It's the same burner from the old pc. Doubleyew tee eff?
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=right scrollamount=10></marquee></P>
SwampGas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 02:02 AM   #2
Drako_Dragon
Senior Member
 
Drako_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Internet Home for Insane Ducks
Posts: 1,172
Default Re: ????????

> 20 minutes to rip a movie with dvdshrink......6 minutes to
> burn it. It used to take 40-50 mins to rip it and 40 mins
> to burn it. It's the same burner from the old pc.
> Doubleyew tee eff?

ain't technology grand <img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>
<P ID="signature"><hr> You're one microscopic cog
in his catastrophic plan
Designed and directed by
his red right hand</P>
__________________

Be the Ultimate Ninja! Play Billy Vs. SNAKEMAN today!
Drako_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 05:19 AM   #3
coolie
Senior Member
 
coolie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,942
Default Re: ????????

I hear ya. My new Mac is an Intel Core 2 Duo at 2.8Ghz, and I'm ripping my DVDs like a fiend right now. On my old computer, I was ripping discs in about 35 minutes, and encoding them with h.264 in 10 hours. Now I rip movies from a virtual machine in 15 minutes, and encode with Handbrake in about 90 minutes. I should've upgraded years ago.
<P ID="signature"><a target="_blank" href=http://www.lp.org></a></P>
__________________
coolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 02:36 PM   #4
CEpeep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,511
Default Re: ????????

> Now I rip movies from
> a virtual machine in 15 minutes, and encode with Handbrake
> in about 90 minutes. I should've upgraded years ago.

Why rip in a VM? I use MacTheRipper (Universal Binary beta) on my 1.83GHz machine to rip in about 10-15 minutes. Yours would be even faster.

<P ID="signature"><font size="-2">09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0</font></P>
CEpeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 03:47 PM   #5
coolie
Senior Member
 
coolie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,942
Default Re: ????????

I was ripping in a VM because my Mac is having trouble with my external DVD drive. Windows ripping programs handle it well, but when I tried ripping from OS X, it wouldn't work.

Am taking your advice, and am trying the new beta of Mactheripper. I had no idea it was even an PPC app until you mentioned it.

> Why rip in a VM? I use MacTheRipper (Universal Binary beta)
> on my 1.83GHz machine to rip in about 10-15 minutes. Yours
> would be even faster.
>

<P ID="signature"><a target="_blank" href=http://www.lp.org></a></P>
__________________
coolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 02:06 AM   #6
SwampGas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,915
Default Re: ????????

> I hear ya. My new Mac is an Intel Core 2 Duo at 2.8Ghz, and
> I'm ripping my DVDs like a fiend right now. On my old
> computer, I was ripping discs in about 35 minutes, and
> encoding them with h.264 in 10 hours. Now I rip movies from
> a virtual machine in 15 minutes, and encode with Handbrake
> in about 90 minutes. I should've upgraded years ago.

Windows is just as slow though......apparently it just sucks in general.
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=right scrollamount=10></marquee></P>
SwampGas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 02:48 AM   #7
coolie
Senior Member
 
coolie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,942
Default Re: ????????

Fully tested the beta on about 12 discs. A little buggy, but overall it works really well. Thank you very much for the tip! Now I can save my virtual machine for other things.
<P ID="signature"><a target="_blank" href=http://www.lp.org></a></P>
__________________
coolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 08:42 AM   #8
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default !!!!!!!!


<P ID="signature"><center><img src=http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c196/reaper_man/rott_sig.png></center></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 06:58 PM   #9
mFC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: ????????

i've been meaning to rip a dvd or two on my comp to see how fast it is...

quad xeon 2.66ghz
4gb fb-ddr2
<P ID="signature">Chris

[img]/personal/mfc/newsig.png[/img]</P>
mFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 12:07 AM   #10
SwampGas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,915
Default Re: ????????

> i've been meaning to rip a dvd or two on my comp to see how
> fast it is...
>
> quad xeon 2.66ghz
> 4gb fb-ddr2

ur hawt
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=right scrollamount=10></marquee></P>
SwampGas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.