Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2007, 07:17 PM   #1
SivakDrac
Senior Member
 
SivakDrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 903
Default Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

Basically, I got a DVD player and a few consoles and what I'd like to do is hook all the inputs all into something that'll go to the TV so I don't have to remove wires.

Does there exist something that'll do this and that'll support at least 4 devices?
<P ID="signature"><HR>http://www.geocities.com/lordsivak/index.htmlVisit my Mega Man page</A>

- Sivak Drac</P>
SivakDrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:36 PM   #2
Diskeater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,460
Default Re: Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

> Basically, I got a DVD player and a few consoles and what
> I'd like to do is hook all the inputs all into something
> that'll go to the TV so I don't have to remove wires.
>
> Does there exist something that'll do this and that'll
> support at least 4 devices?

There are a few ways to do this. The easiest is probably an A/V Switch. You plug all your devices into it, in connects to your TV, and all you have to do is select the proper input on the A/V Switch.

We may need more information...how many devices are you looking to hook up? Do they use composite, S-Video, component, or a mix? You can go down to Radio Shack right now and buy a 4-in-1 composite A/V switch for probably $20, or you could easily spend over $150 on a component A/V Switch.
<P ID="signature">></img>

Wii console code - 7551377053011860</P>
Diskeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 10:28 PM   #3
SivakDrac
Senior Member
 
SivakDrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 903
Default Re: Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

Thanks for the reply.

From the looks of it, something http://cgi.ebay.com/AV-A-V-RCA-Video...QQcmdZViewItemlike this</a> might be what I need. 3 inputs will probably be adequate.
<P ID="signature"><HR>http://www.geocities.com/lordsivak/index.htmlVisit my Mega Man page</A>

- Sivak Drac</P>
SivakDrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 12:03 AM   #4
SamIAm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 487
Default Re: Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

> From the looks of it, something like this might be >what I

Beware, many of the cheap-ass switches that you can find on ebay are total garbage. I've bought a couple of scart switches that were almost unreasonably cheap, and I literally wound up throwing them away. Cheap switches don't properly separate the signals from each of the inputs, and they have a way of degrading the quality of everything that goes through them. If you've got a halfway-decent setup, don't settle for a less than halfway-decent switch.
<P ID="signature"></P>
SamIAm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 12:03 AM   #5
Diskeater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,460
Default Re: Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

> Thanks for the reply.
>
> From the looks of it, something like this might be what I
> need. 3 inputs will probably be adequate.
>

If all you need is composite, go for it. $7 ain't bad.
<P ID="signature">></img>

Wii console code - 7551377053011860</P>
Diskeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 05:35 AM   #6
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

> Cheap switches don't
> properly separate the signals from each of the inputs, and
> they have a way of degrading the quality of everything that
> goes through them. If you've got a halfway-decent setup,
> don't settle for a less than halfway-decent switch.

I was trying a similar thing, and got a guy saying on another forum that the advantages of RGB SCART over composite weren't that big anyway, and I'd lose all that advantage by routing my signal through a cheap SCART switch.

Rather fortunately for me, this discussion was actually academic as I'd already set everything up, and found that while there might be some quality degradation, the improvement over composite is still very noticeable.

Still, this SCART block does have the problem of having a ludicrously short cable linking it to the television. If you know of a switch with at least four inputs that has a decently long cable (50cm would be more than ample) then I would be quite interested.
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction="left" scrollamount="8"></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 01:44 AM   #7
SamIAm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 487
Default Re: Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

RGB is most definitely leaps and bounds ahead of composite, even when run through a bad switch. However, in my case, I have a hard time settling on a lower quality result even if it makes my process more convenient. I'm actually using a scart/component converter for my rig (in NTSC land, it's pretty much your only choice), and the converter itself actually sits right by my consoles. When I want to play a different system, I just swap the cables as necessary and keep an extra set of them around in case the wear and tear becomes too much. In your case, maybe just getting a scart extension cable would be a good idea.

As for switches, I have bought two from ebay - one left everything tinted blue, and the other added tons of interference and fuzz. They were around $10 apiece. I've seen good looking switches from Keene, the company that sold me my converter, but they were frighteningly expensive.

http://www.keene.co.uk/electronics/product.php?mycat=10
<P ID="signature"></P>
SamIAm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 05:57 PM   #8
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

> In your case, maybe just getting a scart
> extension cable would be a good idea.

Actually, I tried getting a female-to-female SCART adaptor and using a second cable, but I just ended up getting sound but no picture. The adaptor is fine (swapped it with another, twice) but it just won't work.
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction="left" scrollamount="8"></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 01:27 AM   #9
SivakDrac
Senior Member
 
SivakDrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 903
Default Re: Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

> If all you need is composite, go for it. $7 ain't bad.

I got the unit in today. It's pretty good. I didn't notice any picture quality loss so far. Sound is good.
<P ID="signature"><HR>http://www.geocities.com/lordsivak/index.htmlVisit my Mega Man page</A>

- Sivak Drac</P>
SivakDrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 01:39 AM   #10
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default Re: Something to hook up multiple devices to one TV

> > If all you need is composite, go for it. $7 ain't bad.
>
> I got the unit in today. It's pretty good. I didn't notice
> any picture quality loss so far. Sound is good.

Use some good quality cables and you shouldn't see any picture quality loss.
<P ID="signature"></P>
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:42 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.