Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2006, 10:14 AM   #1
JadussD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,100
Default StarFox 2 emulator compatibility

Does anyone know an emulator and version number that runs Starfox 2 correctly, for sure? I've tried two versions of ZSNES, and neither work.
<P ID="signature"></P>
JadussD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 04:35 PM   #2
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: StarFox 2 emulator compatibility

> Does anyone know an emulator and version number that runs
> Starfox 2 correctly, for sure? I've tried two versions of
> ZSNES, and neither work.

I believe the newest version of the <a href=http://zsnes.ipherswipsite.com/>ZSNES WIP</a> does.
<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 04:47 PM   #3
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: StarFox 2 emulator compatibility

> Does anyone know an emulator and version number that runs
> Starfox 2 correctly, for sure? I've tried two versions of
> ZSNES, and neither work.

There's a short story about this. When I first got this ROM, I played it over and over and over to figure out which emulator played it best. Here's the three big ones I found:

Seras9x: You've probably never heard of this. It's a long-since discontinued fork of Snes9x that I somehow got my hands on. It played StarFox 2 perfectly, and I used it for a while.

Snes9x: My emulator of choice for this game. Get version 1.43 and it'll work perfectly as long as you have a good ROM. I've been told this is due to a variety of hacks, but it's not as if that matters. Timing looks good, it doesn't freeze, I've played through the game more than 10 times.

ZSNES: Tried loads of versions. Regular versions, unofficial hack, semi-official hack, WIP versions. None of them manage it as well as Snes9x. The regular versions flickered like hell and froze constantly (the 'Flashing Screen of Death'), the unofficial hack didn't flicker but had screwed up timing and still froze as much, the semi-official hack froze less (but still froze up eventually), and the WIP versions freeze up just like the others (except it's now the 'Black Screen of Death). I'll keep testing it, but I'm still using Snes9x to play this game.
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 02:14 AM   #4
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: StarFox 2 emulator compatibility

> I believe the newest version of the ZSNES WIP does.

It's a lot better now, but I don't think it's totally perfect yet...it could just be the translation patch screwing it up somehow (although I doubt it). It looks like some of the graphics are placed lower than they are supposed to be, like the title graphic. In game might be fine, can't test it now as I don't have a controller near here.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD


ZDD's Weblog - Now it has content! Really!</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:11 PM   #5
Murray
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: StarFox 2 emulator compatibility

Star Fox 2 version:
http://hyperupload.com/download/5822...X2VER.exe.html
<P ID="signature"></P>
Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:21 PM   #6
JadussD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: StarFox 2 emulator compatibility

> Snes9x: My emulator of choice for this game. Get version
> 1.43 and it'll work perfectly as long as you have a good
> ROM. I've been told this is due to a variety of hacks, but
> it's not as if that matters. Timing looks good, it doesn't
> freeze, I've played through the game more than 10 times.

Hey, thanks for the info, although I ended up playing through it in Snes9x (with my fingers crossed) shortly after starting this thread.
<P ID="signature"></P>
JadussD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 02:49 AM   #7
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: StarFox 2 emulator compatibility

I have that somewhere. I'd just rather use the WIP versions if I can...lots of stuff seems to be getting fixed up lately. SA-1, SFX...makes my hopes for proper BS-X emulation go up a little.
<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD


ZDD's Weblog - Now it has content! Really!</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.