Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2004, 04:23 PM   #1
adma
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Default Final Fantasy 3 scenery??

I was just wondering if anyone knew if there was some sort of way to edit the indoor areas of final fantasy 6 or any other snes final fantasy, or secret of mana, or chrono trigger... Ok, i'll stop with the long runon

My purposes for this is in the making of a final fantasy flash movie, but i'd rather it look more final fantasy ish, rather then hand drawn, but also have a custom feel to it, like a new area never seen before or something. any response is appreciated, also feel free to email or IM me<img src=smilies/upeyes.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>
adma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 04:25 PM   #2
Fla Flash
Staff (News -- Rom Hacking)
 
Fla Flash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 8,141
Default Re: Final Fantasy 3 scenery??

Tile layer pro and ms-paint would probably work. But it'd take awhile.

<P ID="signature"><img src=http://www.freewebs.com/mewscorner/pump.png>
Symbiosis..just when you thought the woods were safe...</P>
Fla Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 04:29 PM   #3
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Final Fantasy 3 scenery??

If it's a flash movie, I'd say that taking screen caps would probably be best if you didn't want to mess with Tile Layer Pro.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD

This Ramen gallery is full of delicious-looking ramen photos watering your mouth!
</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 05:40 PM   #4
adma
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Final Fantasy 3 scenery??

> Tile layer pro and ms-paint would probably work. But it'd
> take awhile.
>
What is this tile layer pro stuff? i've never heard of it

<P ID="signature"></P>
adma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 08:17 PM   #5
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Final Fantasy 3 scenery??

> What is this tile layer pro stuff? i've never heard of it

Look around in the ROM Hacking utilities section of the site, it should be there. It's a multi-purpose graphics hacking utility, works for many systems.


<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD

This Ramen gallery is full of delicious-looking ramen photos watering your mouth!
</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 09:06 PM   #6
adma
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Final Fantasy 3 scenery??

> > What is this tile layer pro stuff? i've never heard of it
>
> Look around in the ROM Hacking utilities section of the
> site, it should be there. It's a multi-purpose graphics
> hacking utility, works for many systems.
>
well i found it, I just don't know how to use it, it gets the tiles ok, but it has the wrong palettes


<P ID="signature"></P>
adma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2004, 01:07 AM   #7
Chickenlump
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 70
Default Re: Final Fantasy 3 scenery??

If your tile editor can load palettes from rom offsets (grab and use the correct palettes directly from the rom), use that feature.

Directly from Evil Peer's FF6 Offsets text file....

270200 27034F DATA No "Battle Background graphic/data bank selection and palette (3 bytes Graphic Packet, 2 bytes Tile Assembly, 1 byte Palettes), 56 Total" 3/19/2003
270350 27184F PAL No "Battle Background Palettes (168 Palettes, 16 colors each)" 7/16/2002
271850 271A47 PTR No "Pointers to Battle Backgrounds graphics (168 elements, 75 used)" 7/16/2002
271A48 271B27 PTR No Pointers to Battle Background tile assembly (relative to 270200) 7/16/2002
271B28 27ABE6 DATA Yes "Battle Background tile assembly (32x19 tiles (except Ghost Train), 2 bytes per tile)" 7/16/2002
27ABE7 2964FF GFX Yes Battle Backgrounds Graphic Packets (48 packs) + 64 wasted bytes 3/19/2003

Peer Sprite Viewer can also do this.


<P ID="signature"></P>
Chickenlump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2004, 01:17 AM   #8
SpaceTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4,548
Default Re: Final Fantasy 3 scenery??

> Look around in the ROM Hacking utilities section of the
> site, it should be there.


http://www.zophar.net/utilities/graphutil.htmlZD Graphics Hacking Utilities</a>

Also worth a look: http://www.stud.ntnu.no/~kenth/tm/Tile Molester</a>.

<P ID="signature">----
"And dreams may come
That are everlasting
Though all just plastic too..." </P>
SpaceTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.