Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2004, 02:10 PM   #1
BalzacMisfit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default 16 bit to 8 bit

how do i put 16 bit graphics into a nes game.

<P ID="signature"></P>
BalzacMisfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2004, 03:11 PM   #2
Gideon Zhi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 499
Default Re: 16 bit to 8 bit

> how do i put 16 bit graphics into a nes game.

You don't. It's similar to trying to fit two gallons of milk into a one-gallon jug.

<P ID="signature"><hr><center>http://agtp.romhack.net<img src=http://agtp.romhack.net/linkage.gif></a>
Aeon Genesis ~ Aiyah! Thank you for the always and always.</center></P>
Gideon Zhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2004, 04:41 PM   #3
Danoz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,903
Default Re: 16 bit to 8 bit

Or 12 bullets into a 6 shooter....

<P ID="signature"></P>
Danoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2004, 08:15 PM   #4
pipes
Senior Member
 
pipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,883
Default Re: 16 bit to 8 bit

> how do i put 16 bit graphics into a nes game.

If you want to convert 16 bit to 8 bit you can open in like paint or something and save it a 8 bit(256 total will be used). To put in a game after I don't know.

<P ID="signature">-----------------------------------------
The pipes clangor all the time!</P><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by pipes clangor on 09/05/04 04:29 PM.</FONT></P>
__________________
The pipes never clangor.
pipes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 01:58 AM   #5
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: 16 bit to 8 bit

> If you want to convert 16 bit to 8 bit you can open in like
> paint or something and save it a 8 bit(256 total will be
> used). To put in a game after I don't know.

That is the dumbest thing I've ever heard.

<P ID="signature">It doesn't matter if you’re 7'8" and weigh 100 lbs, or you're 4'9" and weigh 300 lbs, or black, green, or blue. That's Gene's greatest legacy to all of us - inclusion for the world. - Robert Blackman</P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 02:30 AM   #6
Goku
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: 16 bit to 8 bit


> That is the dumbest thing I've ever heard.

Only if your being an snobbish technophile. Pipesclangor is obviously talking about converting 16 bit picture images into an 8 bit imaget. Go to paint and save the 16 bit bmp file as 8 bit. Simple.

Now, putting it in a game is a different story. I am sure that there may be some bitmaps like images in certain 8 bit games. So i guess, replacing that data with a different file would be possible. How you would do that is a different story. I have no clue


<P ID="signature">Mooooooooooooooooo</P>
Goku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 03:49 AM   #7
BalzacMisfit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: 16 bit to 8 bit

> > how do i put 16 bit graphics into a nes game.
>
> You don't. It's similar to trying to fit two gallons of milk
> into a one-gallon jug.
>

let me re phrase my statment how do i insert converted images into a 8 bit game..I tried using hackster but it wont work

<P ID="signature"></P>
BalzacMisfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 04:57 AM   #8
pipes
Senior Member
 
pipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,883
Default Re: 16 bit to 8 bit

> That is the dumbest thing I've ever heard.

I did alot of assuming. From the title I am thinking he has some kind of 16 bit image. My guess a bitmap. Then convert it to 8 bit and use some kind of utility to put it into a game? I don't know. But now I think about it it 8 bit is a bit much in a NES game. Should it be turned into 4 bit? More that I don't know.

<P ID="signature">-----------------------------------------
The pipes clangor all the time!</P>
__________________
The pipes never clangor.
pipes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 05:26 AM   #9
Gavin_86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,082
Default simple solution

just throw the thing into http://www.stud.ntnu.no/~kenth/tm/Tile Molester</a>. it'll automatically convert it from whatever previous format into an 8-bit NES formated image. done and done.

<P ID="signature"><center>I'm just a Paranoid Android watching through my superb crystal viewing glass

.::http://gavin.panicus.orgGavin.Panicus.org</a> ::.
</center></P>
Gavin_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 11:58 AM   #10
AkaneJones
Senior Member
 
AkaneJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,668
Default Re: 16 bit to 8 bit

You mean like this?

Well It's just a demo test of what you could do with a nes game, but the best results always come from self modding down to four colours then reinserting them. You do need to remeber that 1 all tiles are 16x16 and the bg sprites have 4 colours while character sprites have only 3, because fourth is for transparentcy. You also have to factor in Nes limitation though like only four palates per sprite type.

P.S. That's made useing a screen from SMB3, and converted graffics from SMAS:SMB3, SMW, and Actraiser. Although the animation would take alot longer it all could be done.
<P ID="signature"><hr>
<center>

</center></P>

C:Serverxampphtdocszopharoldwwwthrea...ntsSMB3Mod.gif
AkaneJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.